Science Speakers: General and High School

Arizona Space Grant Consortium General and High School Science Speakers are sorted by last name.
To find a particular person hit Ctrl + F, then enter the person's last name.
If any of the following information is out of date or missing please contact

Joshua Sosa
520.621.8556
spacegrant@lpl.arizona.edu

Last Name First Name Email Phone Presentation Title Comments
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 Careers in Chemistry 1 week advance notice required. Grades 10-12.
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 Chemistry of a Xerox Copier 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 6-12.
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 How Paper Is Made 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 3-12.
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 Plastic: What Is It and How Is It Made? 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 3-12.
Baker Paul pbaker@ag.arizona.edu 626-7366 Pesticides 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Baker Paul pbaker@ag.arizona.edu 626-7366 Termites 4 weeks advance notice required.
Baker Paul pbaker@ag.arizona.edu 626-7366 Environmental Issues 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Bickel William bickel@email.arizona.edu 621-2524 Sound, Music, Birdsongs and Earthquakes Requires 1 month advance notice.
Binder Rolf binder@optics.arizona.edu 621-2892 The Role of Basic Physics in Future Communication 8 weeks advance notice required.
Boattini Andrea boattini@lpl.arizona.edu 621-6899 The Catalina Sky Survey 2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed
Boattini Andrea boattini@lpl.arizona.edu 621-6899 The New Frontier: Beyond Neptune 2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed
Boattini Andrea boattini@lpl.arizona.edu 621-6899 Minor Planets in the Solar System 2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed
Boattini Andrea boattini@lpl.arizona.edu 621-6899 Near Earth Objects 2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed
Boyle Alice alboyle@email.arizona.edu 621-3534 Bird migration in the tropics 2 weeks advance notice required.
Cohen Andrew cohen@email.arizona.edu 621-4691 Lakes A few weeks advance notice required.
Consalvi Salvatore salvatore.consalvi@gmail.com 708-527-8593 Summary of Antarctic Research 1 Month Advance Notice
Consalvi Salvatore salvatore.consalvi@gmail.com 708-527-8593 Deep Field Camps: Working in Remote and Isolated 1 month advance, can adjust for any audience
Denton Dr. M Bonner mbdenton@email.arizona.edu 621-8246 Going Fast in a Racecar - You'd Better Have Science and Technology on Your Side 1 month advance notice required, 2 months preferred.
Denton Dr. M Bonner mbdenton@email.arizona.edu 621-8246 The Color of Light - How Spectroscopy Improves Our Lives 1 month advance notice required, 2 months preferred.
DeVito Carl devito@math.arizona.edu 621-2891 Mathematics, Science and the Continuing Search for ET For high school students or general groups of people that are high school aged or older.
Fulvio Melia melia@physics.arizona.edu 621-9651 The Cosmic Horizon 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Fulvio Melia melia@physics.arizona.edu 621-9651 Black Hole at the Center of our Galaxy 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Fulvio Melia melia@physics.arizona.edu 621-9651 Supermassive Black Holes in the Universe 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Ganapol Barry D. ganapol@cowboy.ame.arizona.edu 621-4728 Satellite Remote Sensing and the Environment 3 weeks advance notice required.
Geurtin D. Phillip phil@snr.arizona.edu 621-1723 Use of Geographic Information Systems for Natural Resource Management A few days advance notice required. Suitable for grades 3-5.
Hodgins Greg ghodgins@physics.arizona.edu 626-3619 Knowledge from Decay: how Radiocarbon Dating illuminates the past 1 month advanced notice required.
Holberg Jay holberg@argus.lpl.arizona.edu 621-4571 Sirius the brightest diamond in the night sky 1 week advance notice required.
Holberg Jay holberg@argus.lpl.arizona.edu 621-4571 White Dwarf Stars 1 week advance notice required.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 How Do Cells Communicate? Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 How Do Hormones Work? Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 How the Brain Works: Brain Chemistry Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 Pain and Addiction: Are They Related? Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 Tanning Without Sun Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 The Chemistry of Human Behavior Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Krider Philip   621-6836 Lightning Safety 1 month advance notice required. Designed for general groups.
Krupinski Elizabeth krupinski@radiology.arizona.edu 626-4498 Telemedicine: Getting Healthcare to People Far Away - Including Space! 2 weeks advance notice recommended.
Larson Dennis larsond@email.arizona.edu 621-1248 Using Solar, Wind, and/or Biomass Energy  
Lewis John jsl@email.arizona.edu 621-4972 Resources From Space 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 5-12.
Marsh Stuart smarsh@email.arizona.edu 621-8574 Mapping and Monitoring the Environment: Thirty Years of Remote Sensing of Planet Earth  
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Hubble Space Telescope and UA Astronomy 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Liquid Nitrogen Demonstration and Miscellaneous Astronomy 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Mount Graham and Large Telescopes 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Searches for Other Planetary Systems 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Adaptive Optics 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McPherson Guy grm@ag.arizona.edu 621-5389 Is it getting hotter, or is it just Tucson  
McPherson Guy grm@ag.arizona.edu 621-5389 Peak Oil: The collapse of civilization: the good, the bad, and the unknown  
Muscat Anthony muscat@erc.arizona.edu 626-6580 The Phases of Matter 2 weeks advance notice required.
Muscat Anthony muscat@erc.arizona.edu 626-6580 The Next Generation of Computer Chips 2 weeks advance notice required.
Pascucci  Ilaria  pascucci@lpl.arizona.edu 626-5373  Where did Earth water come from?  1 month advanced notice, projector needed 
Pascucci  Ilaria  pascucci@lpl.arizona.edu 626-5373  Strange New Worlds  1 month advanced notice, projector needed 
Raman  Aishwarya  aishwaryaraman@email.arizona.edu 465-9021  Modeling Carbon monoxide and dust emissions 

1 month advanced notice, projector needed 

Ramohalli Kumar ramohall@email.arizona.edu 621-2235 High-Tech Toys in our Future and Space Spinoffs 1 week advance notice required.
Silvertooth Jeff silver@ag.arizona.edu 621-7228 Agriculture and the Environment 1 month advance notice required.
Silvertooth Jeff silver@ag.arizona.edu 621-7228 Environmental Science and Sustainability 1 month advance notice required.
Silvertooth Jeff silver@ag.arizona.edu 621-7228 Soil and Water Conservation and Sustainability 1 month advance notice required.
Swindle Tim tswindle@lpl.arizona.edu 621-4128 Life in a Martian Meteorite? Requires 2 week advance notice. Suitable for grades 6 and up.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 Probing the Chemistry of Cometary Snows Requires 1 month advance notice.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 Spin-Casting the World's Largest Telescope Mirrors (at the Mirror Lab) Requires 1 month advance notice.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 The Large Binocular Telescope & the Search for ET 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 The Search for Extra-Solar Planets 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 World's Highest Observatory - in the Himalayas 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 The Chemistry & Physics of Comets 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 The Greatest Hits of All Time - When objects collide 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 The Dark Matter Telescope 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
Shirley Yancy yshirley@email.arizona.edu 626-3666  Where Stars and Planets Are Born  Projector needed for laptop
Zellem Rob rzellem@lpl.arizona.edu 615-944-2627 Exoplanets: Discovery and Understanding  Projector or power source needed