Science Speakers: Junior High and Middle School

Arizona Space Grant Consortium Middle School Science Speakers are sorted by last name.
To find a particular person hit Ctrl + F, then enter the person's last name.
If any of the following information is out of date or missing please contact

Joshua Sosa
520.621.8556
spacegrant@lpl.arizona.edu

Last Name First Name Email Phone Presentation Title Comments
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 Chemistry of a Xerox Copier 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 6-12.
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 How Paper Is Made 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 3-12.
Adickes H. Wayne adickes@email.arizona.edu 621-2862 Plastic: What Is It and How Is It Made? 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 3-12.
Baker Paul pbaker@ag.arizona.edu 626-7366 Pesticides 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Baker Paul pbaker@ag.arizona.edu 626-7366 Termites 4 weeks advance notice required.
Baker Paul pbaker@ag.arizona.edu 626-7366 Environmental Issues 2-3 weeks advance notice required.
Bickel William bickel@email.arizona.edu 621-2524 Sound, Music, Birdsongs and Earthquakes Requires 1 month advance notice.
Cohen Andrew cohen@email.arizona.edu 621-4691 Lakes A few weeks advance notice required.
Consalvi Salvatore salvatore.consalvi@gmail.com 708-527-8593 Opportunities and Adventures for the Earth Scientist 1 month Advance, can alter for any audience
Consalvi Salvatore salvatore.consalvi@gmail.com 708-527-8593 Glacier Studies in Alaska and Antarctica 1 month advance, can adjust for any audience
Garfin Gregg gmgarfin@email.arizona.edu 626-4372 

How Climate Change Affects the Southwest United States 

1 month notice preferred; projector needed; consultation preferred, in order to home in on best match between audience and topic 
Garfin Gregg gmgarfin@email.arizona.edu 626-4372 

From the Parched Past to 2014 and Beyond 

1 month notice preferred; projector needed; consultation preferred, in order to home in on best match between audience and topic 
Geurtin D. Phillip phil@snr.arizona.edu 621-1723 Use of Geographic Information Systems for Natural Resource Management A few days advance notice required. Suitable for grades 3-5.
Hodgins Greg ghodgins@physics.arizona.edu 626-3619 Knowledge from Decay: how Radiocarbon Dating illuminates the past 1 month advanced notice required.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 How Do Cells Communicate? Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 How Do Hormones Work? Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 How the Brain Works: Brain Chemistry Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 Pain and Addiction: Are They Related? Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 Tanning Without Sun Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.
Hruby Victor hruby@u.arizona.edu 621-6332 Pain and Addiction: Are They Related? few days advance notice required.
Krupinski Elizabeth krupinski@radiology.arizona.edu 626-4498 Telemedicine: Getting Healthcare to People Far Away - including Space! 2 weeks advance notice recommended.
Larson Dennis larsond@email.arizona.edu 621-1248 Using Solar, Wind and/or Biomass Energy  
Lewis John jsl@email.arizona.edu 621-4972 Resources From Space 1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 5-12.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Hubble Space Telescope and UA Astronomy 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Liquid Nitrogen Demonstration and Miscellaneous Astronomy 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McCarthy Don dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu 621-4079 Hubble Space Telescope and UA Astronomy 3-4 weeks advance notice required.
McPherson Guy grm@ag.arizona.edu 621-5389 Why you should care about the price of oil  
Meixner Thomas  tmeixner@email.arizona.edu 331-6730  Hydrology: The Science of Water  need 1 month and projector. Presentation also focuses on water sources and challenges for Tucson. 
Muscat Anthony muscat@erc.arizona.edu 626-6580 The Phases of Matter 2 weeks advance notice required.
Ramohalli Kumar ramohall@email.arizona.edu 621-2235 High-Tech Toys in our Future and Space Spinoffs 1 week advance notice required.
Silvertooth Jeff silver@ag.arizona.edu 621-7228 Agriculture and the Environment 1 month advance notice required.
Silvertooth Jeff silver@ag.arizona.edu 621-7228 Environmental Science and Sustainability 1 month advance notice required.
Silvertooth Jeff silver@ag.arizona.edu 621-7228 Soil and Water Conservation and Sustainability 1 month advance notice required.
Swindle Tim tswindle@lpl.arizona.edu 621-4128 Rocks from Space 2 weeks advance notice required.
Swindle Tim tswindle@lpl.arizona.edu 621-4128 Life on a Martian Meteorite? 2 weeks advance notice required. Suitable for grades 6 and up.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 Probing the Chemistry of Cometary Snows Requires 1 month advance notice.
Wehinger Peter wehinger@email.arizona.edu 621-7662 Spin-Casting the World's Largest Telescope Mirrors (at the Mirror Lab) Requires 1 month advance notice.
Shirley Yancy yshirley@email.arizona.edu 626-3666  Where Stars and Planets Are Born  Projector needed for laptop
Zellem Rob rzellem@lpl.arizona.edu 615-944-2627 Exoplanets: Discovery and Understanding  Projector or power source needed