Undergraduate Mentors 2000-2001

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Farhad Akhavan and Tom D. Milster of Optical-Sciences are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Doug Oatis on "Space Environment Testing of Next Generation Optical Memory".

Dr. Akhavan may be reached by e-mail at: farhad@u.arizona.edu.

Robert Arnold of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tiffany Nakajima on "Destruction of gas-phase chlorinated organic pollutants using reductive strategies.".

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: arnold@engr.arizona.edu.

H. Bradford Barber of Radiology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Allison Wilhelm on "Development of an Apparatus for Monitoring Bone Mineral Density of Astronauts During Long-Duration Spaceflight".

Dr. Barber may be reached by e-mail at: bradb@radiology.arizona.edu.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kimberly Garcia on "Frozen Seawater".

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Paul Blowers of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joseph Muehlbauer on "Engineering Approximations for Gas Phase Rate Constants".

Dr. Blowers may be reached by e-mail at: blowers@engr.arizona.edu.

Judee Burgoon of Communication is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Claire Lubert on "Effective Collaboration among Distributed Teams under High Workload".

Dr. Burgoon may be reached by e-mail at: judee@u.arizona.edu.

Harold Butner of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Theresa Lauwers on "Investigating the Physical Conditions of UCHII Regions".

Dr. Butner may be reached by e-mail at: hbutner@as.arizona.edu.

Wayne Chen of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern James Cody on "Student Satellite Structural Design".

Dr. Chen may be reached by e-mail at: wchen@ame.arizona.edu.

Julia Cole of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Terri Dzienis on "Reconstructing tropical climate variability from geochemical records.".

Dr. Cole may be reached by e-mail at: jcole@geo.arizona.edu.

Andrew Comrie of Geography is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lucas Watanabe on "Mapping Land Cover Change Using Satellite Remote Sensing".

Dr. Comrie may be reached by e-mail at: comrie@climate.geog.arizona.edu.

Dominick DeLuca of MBIM is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Amanda Kessel on "Effect of Microgravity on the Development of the Immune System".

Dr. DeLuca may be reached by e-mail at: deluca@u.arizona.edu.

Anne Denogean of medical reporter is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kristen Hoggatt on "Science and Medical Reporting Internship at the Tucson Citizen".

Dr. Denogean may be reached by e-mail at: adenogea@tucsoncitizen.com.

Wendell Ela of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Shaffer on "Water Potability Assessment Using c-DNA Arrays".

Dr. Ela may be reached by e-mail at: ela@engr.arizona.edu.

Ernest Fasse of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brian Massey on "SSP/UASat Guidance, Navigation and Control".

Dr. Fasse may be reached by e-mail at: fasse@u.arizona.edu.

Robert Frye of Soil, Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrea Morrison on "Effect of the Space Environment on Complex Ecosystems".

Dr. Frye may be reached by e-mail at: rjfrye@u.arizona.edu.

Donald Garnett of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael McCumber on "History of Star Formation in the Small Magellanic Cloud".

Dr. Garnett may be reached by e-mail at: dgarnett@as.arizona.edu.

Richard Greenberg of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alyssa Sarid on "Geology of Europa".

Dr. Greenberg may be reached by e-mail at: greenberg@lpl.arizona.edu.

Charles Hutchinson of Office Of Arid Lands Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Heather Schwamb on "Modes and Models for Enabling the Use of NASA EOS data".

Dr. Hutchinson may be reached by e-mail at: chuck@ag.arizona.edu.

Kenneth Johns of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chris Burpee on "Particle Physics Research on the Fermilab D0 Colliding Beam Experiment".

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@fnal.gov.

Wayne Jouse of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Fergen on "Development of Miniature Unmanned Aerial Vehicle".

Dr. Jouse may be reached by e-mail at: jouse@u.arizona.edu.

Timothy Jull of Geosciences, NSF Arizona AMS Laboratory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Charles Lawry on "Terrestrial 14C ages of meteorites".

Dr. Jull may be reached by e-mail at: jull@u.arizona.edu.

John O. Kessler of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern James Gilmore on "( Micro-) fluid dynamics of organisms and structures".

Dr. Kessler may be reached by e-mail at: kessler@physics.arizona.edu.

David Kring of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jake Bailey on "Bringing Planetary Images to Teachers, Students, and the Public".

Dr. Kring may be reached by e-mail at: kring@lpl.arizona.edu.

Larry Lebofsky of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephen Ferris on "Development of Education Websites".

Dr. Lebofsky may be reached by e-mail at: lebofsky@lpl.arizona.edu.

Diane Luber of Arizona Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tate Williams on "Science Journalism".

Dr. Luber may be reached by e-mail at: dluber@azstarnet.com.

Jonathan Lunine of Lunar and Planetary Laboratory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brian Lundberg on "NASA's Terrestrial Planet Finder (TPF) and the study of giant planets".

Dr. Lunine may be reached by e-mail at: jlunine@lpl.arizona.edu.

David Mathine of Optical Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Miguel Montoya on "Optical Bus on a Chip".

Dr. Mathine may be reached by e-mail at: mathine@u.arizona.edu.

Alfred McEwen of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lindsey Link on "Development of a GIS for Elysium Basin and Vicinity, Mars".

Dr. McEwen may be reached by e-mail at: mcewen@lpl.arizona.edu.

Wendy Mechaber and John Hildebrand of ARLDN are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gina Kraft on "Plant Volatile Release: Contribution to Atmospheric Quality".

Dr. Mechaber may be reached by e-mail at: mechaber@neurobio.arizona.edu.

Michael R. Meyer of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joshua Gordon on "Astrogeography: Clues to the Formation of Massive Stars".

Dr. Meyer may be reached by e-mail at: mmeyer@as.arizona.edu.

Susan Moran of Soil, Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Angela Battershell on "Combining remote sensing and modeling for monitoring grasslands".

Dr. Moran may be reached by e-mail at: moran@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Anthony Muscat of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joseph Durgin on "Investigation of a Steric Effect in the Etching of SiO2 using Aqueous HF Solutions".

Dr. Muscat may be reached by e-mail at: muscat@erc.arizona.edu.

Mike Parker and Jane Levine of Rincon Research Corp. are working with Undergraduate Research Intern John Wallace on "Communications, telemetry, radar and location determination".

Dr. Parker 2 may be reached by e-mail at: parker@rincon.com.

David Poirier of Materials Science and Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Luis Tapia on "Effect of "g-jitter" on solidification in a low gravity environment".

Dr. Poirier may be reached by e-mail at: poirierd@u.arizona.edu.

Johann Rafelski of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Travis Sherman on "Matter-Antimatter annihilation in early universe".

Dr. Rafelski may be reached by e-mail at: Rafelski@physics.Arizona.EDU.

Kumar Ramohalli of AME/SERC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Emilio Chapa on "Biology-Inspired Robots for Low-cost Space Missions".

Dr. Ramohalli may be reached by e-mail at: kumar@scorpio.aml.arizona.edu.

Travis Rector of NOAO is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Denise Hernandez on "A Search for Novae in Local Group Galaxies".

Dr. Rector may be reached by e-mail at: rector@noao.edu.

Nilton Renno of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Timothy Campbell on "Dust Storms Modeling".

Dr. Renno may be reached by e-mail at: renno@atmo.arizona.edu.

William Sprigg of Institute for the Study of Planet Earth is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lisa Reed on "Forecasting of dust and sand storms".

Dr. Sprigg may be reached by e-mail at: wsprigg@U.Arizona.EDU.

Lori Stiles of News Services is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rene Siqueiros on "science writer intern".

Dr. Stiles may be reached by e-mail at: lstiles@u.arizona.edu.

Robert Strom of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Azul Gomez on "The Small Crater Population on Mars".

Dr. Strom may be reached by e-mail at: rstrom@jupiter.lpl.arizona.edu.

Tim Swindle of Planetary Sciences/Lunar and Plantary Laboratory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Audrie Fennema on "Determining the mass of a sample for spacecraft measurement".

Dr. Swindle may be reached by e-mail at: tswindle@u.arizona.edu.

Robert Varady of Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michelle Kassner on "Various projects on environmental policy".

Dr. Varady may be reached by e-mail at: rvarady@u.arizona.edu.

Charles Weidman of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Peter Lewis on "Sensor development for ground-based validation of satellite observations of lightning".

Dr. Weidman may be reached by e-mail at: weidman@atmo.arizona.edu.

Mark Willis of ARL, Division of Neurobiology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern William Patton on "Biologicially-inspired odor-tracking algorithms for mobile robots.".

Dr. Willis may be reached by e-mail at: maw@neurobio.arizona.edu.

Stephen Yool of Geography is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeff Lindquist on "Monitoring Wildland Fire Risk and Effects with Remote Sensing".

Dr. Yool may be reached by e-mail at: yool@skydog.geog.arizona.edu.

Ann Zabludoff of Astronomy, UA is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sherri Heck on "Searching for X-ray Binary Stars outside the Milky Way".

Dr. Zabludoff may be reached by e-mail at: azabludoff@as.arizona.edu.