Undergraduate Mentors 2002-2003

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Robert Arnold of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joseph Scott on "Measuring Estrogenic Activity in Reclaimed Water".

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: arnold@engr.arizona.edu.

Roger Bales of Hydrology and Water Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lucas Wilkinson on "Chemical Analysis of Polar Ice Cores and Snow Samples".

Dr. Bales may be reached by e-mail at: roger@hwr.arizona.edu.

Julio Betancourt of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Hannah Carlson on "Physical and Biological Responses to Short and Long-Term Climate Variability in Deserts".

Dr. Betancourt may be reached by e-mail at: jlbetanc@usgs.gov.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Angelita Denny on "Photolysis of Nitrogen Dioxide in Tucson".

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Christopher Choi of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Garrett Smith on "Dispersion of Pathogens in Water Channels".

Dr. Choi may be reached by e-mail at: cchoi@ag.arizona.edu.

Debra Colodner of Flandrau Science Center is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Benjamin Tudor on "Workshop Development at Flandrau Science Center".

Dr. Colodner may be reached by e-mail at: colodner@email.arizona.edu.

Andrew Comrie of Geography & Reg Dev is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lucas Murray on "Satellite Mapping of Potential Fugitive Dust Pollution Sources in Ambos Nogales".

Dr. Comrie may be reached by e-mail at: comrie@geog.arizona.edu.

David Crown of the Planetary Science Institute is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Thomas Miller on "Mapping Lava Flow Fields on Mars".

Dr. Crown may be reached by e-mail at: crown@psi.edu.

Joel Cuello of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sean Gray on "Energy Balance and Three-Dimensional Radiation Distribution of Electric Lamps for Advanced Space Life Support".

Dr. Cuello may be reached by e-mail at: jcuello@ag.arizona.edu.

Michael Drake of Lunar and Planetary Laboratory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gin Tracy on an "Arizona Student Satellite Program Focused Mars Study".

Dr. Drake may be reached by e-mail at: drake@lpl.arizona.edu.

Wendell Ela of Chemical & Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern John Vo on "Arsenic Desorption from Water Treatment Solids".

Dr. Ela may be reached by e-mail at: ela@engr.arizona.edu.

Hermann Fasel of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chris Ruelle on "Active Control of Separation for Aerospace Vehicles".

Dr. Fasel may be reached by e-mail at: faselh@u.arizona.edu.

Uwe Fink of PtyS is working with Undergraduate Research Interns Rex Cook and Andrew Crites on "CubeSat".

Dr. Fink may be reached by e-mail at: UweFink@lpl.arizona.edu.

James Field of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Freeman on "Nutrient Nitrogen Cycling in Bioreactors: Project 1 Chemolithotrophic Denitrification in Continuous Bioreactors".

Dr. Field may be reached by e-mail at: jimfield@email.arizona.edu.

Gregg Garfin of ISPE is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Chavez on "Connections between Climate and Frost Occurrence in Southern Arizona".

Dr. Garfin may be reached by e-mail at: gmgarfin@email.arizona.edu.

Charles Gerba of Soil,Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sushma Patel on the "Use of Aquatic Plants and Wetlands to Treat Wastewater".

Dr. Gerba may be reached by e-mail at: gerba@ag.arizona.edu.

Gene Giacomelli of AG & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rachit Kumar on "Food Production Systems for Space".

Dr. Giacomelli may be reached by e-mail at: rkumar@u.arizona.edu.

Stuart Hoenig of Electrical and Computer Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeffrey Corwon on the "Removal of Water Vapor from Air, the System is Simple and Uses Very Little Power".

Dr. Hoenig may be reached by e-mail at: hoenig@ece.arizona.edu.

Charles Hutchinson of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michelle Hertzfeld on "NASA Science Assimilation".

Dr. Hutchinson may be reached by e-mail at: chuck@ag.arizona.edu.

Tim Konski of AZ Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Yui Umehara on a "Student Science Writing Internship".

 

Chieri Kubota of Plant Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nehal Shah on "Plant Production for Space".

Dr. Kubota may be reached by e-mail at: ckubota@ag.arizona.edu.

John Kupfer of Geography and Regional Development is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Liga on "Coupling Remote Sensing, GIS and Field Surveys to Assess and Map Forest Attributes in Valles Caldera National Preserve".

Dr. Kupfer may be reached by e-mail at: kupfer@email.arizona.edu.

Kevin Lansey of Civil Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mark Decker on "Flash Flood Predictions Using Hydrologic Modeling".

Dr. Lansey may be reached by e-mail at: lansey@engr.arizona.edu.

Dante Lauretta of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Frances McQueen on "Meteorite Analysis and Early Solar System Environments".

Dr. Lauretta may be reached by e-mail at: lauretta@lpl.arizona.edu.

Willem Van Leeuwen of Office of Arid Lands Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Geoffrey Sammons on "Landscape and Soil Degradation Risk Assessment for Arizona".

Dr. Van Leeuwen may be reached by e-mail at: leeuw@ag.arizona.edu.

Ralph Lorenz of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mark Robertson-Tessi on "Visions of Titan : Artistic Impressions of Titan's Landscape", and with Undergraduate Research Intern Sharon Ng on a "Hitchhiker's Guide to Titan".

Dr. Lorenz may be reached by e-mail at: rlorenz@lpl.arizona.edu.

Jonathan Lunine of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Katherine Maish on "NGST and Extrasolar Planets".

Dr. Lunine may be reached by e-mail at: jlunine@lpl.arizona.edu.

Michael Meyer of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Amanda Morrow on "Are We on the Right Track? Testing Pre-Main Sequence Evolutionary Theory with Observations".

Dr. Meyer may be reached by e-mail at: mmeyer@as.arizona.edu.

James Muzerolle of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Shawn McLamarrah on "Clues to Planet Formation: A SIRTF Survey for Circumstellar Disks".

Dr. Muzerolle may be reached by e-mail at: jamesm@as.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Interns Amanda Cockerham and Jonathan Saints on "Arizona Watershed Wise".

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Alfonso Ortega of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Justin Wodrich on "Experimental Measurement of Thermal Green's Functions".

Dr. Ortega may be reached by e-mail at: ortega@u.arizona.edu.

Robert Merideth of the Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kimberly Eldredge on "San Pedro River Projects".

Dr. Owen may be reached by e-mail at: merideth@u.arizona.edu.

Leslie 'Pez' Owen of Flandrau Science Center is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michelle Huelskamp on "Science Literacy Development in K-12 Planetarium Programs".

Dr. Owen may be reached by e-mail at: lowen@u.arizona.edu.

Mike Parker of Rincon Research Corp. is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Roberto Bringas on "Minature Sensors".

Dr. Parker may be reached by e-mail at: parker@rincon.com.

Reyes Sierra of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jayanti Muliyil on "Microbial Processes in Astroenvironments: Microbial Respiration of Metalloids".

Dr. Sierra may be reached by e-mail at: rsierra@email.arizona.edu.

Tim Slater of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sarah Jaeggli on "Identification of Astronomy Education Misconceptions".

Dr. Slater may be reached by e-mail at: tslater@as.arizona.edu.

Elizabeth Turtle of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nievita Hartnesss on "Search for Evidence for Ground Ice on Mars".

Dr. Turtle may be reached by e-mail at: turtle@lpl.arizona.edu.

Mark Wagner of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Edward Little on an "Implementation of an Astronomical Spectrograph at the 61' Kuiper Telescope".

Dr. Wagner may be reached by e-mail at: rmw@as.arizona.edu.

Christopher Walker of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jacob Lauser on an "Upgrade of a Student Radio Telescope".

Dr. Walker may be reached by e-mail at: cwalker@as.arizona.edu.

William H. Wing of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Interns Damon Kopala and Scott McCloskey on "CubeSat 1".

Dr. Wing may be reached by e-mail at: wwing@u.arizona.edu.

Mark Witten of Pediatrics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrew Lemieux on "Gender Differences in Fluid Distribution in a Rat Simulated Microgravity Model".

Dr. Witten may be reached by e-mail at: mwitten@peds.arizona.edu.