Undergraduate Mentors 2004-2005

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Steven Archer of School of Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Laura Yablon on "Assessing the Consequences of Land Cover Change."

 

Dr. Archer may be reached by e-mail at: sarcher@ag.arizona.edu.

Robert Arnold of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matthew Potzler on "ln-place carbon regeneration using Fenton's reagents."

 

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: rga@engr.arizona.edu.

Julio Betancourt of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Erin Gleeson on "Paleoecology/paleoclimatoogy of American deserts."

 

Dr. Betancourt may be reached by e-mail at: jlbetanc@usgs.gov.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lisa Dashiell on "Does Ozone on Mt. Lemmon Affect the Forest?."

 

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Ross Bryant of UDSA-ARS is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Keith Ward on "Soil moisture modeling and GIS."

 

Dr. Bryant may be reached by e-mail at: rbryant@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Jon Chorover of Soil, Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Monica Titus on "Do organic acids produce biosignatures during mineral weathering?."

 

Dr. Chorover may be reached by e-mail at: chorover@cals.arizona.edu.

David Crown of Planetary Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Varun Bhartia on "Mapping Planetary Surfaces."

 

Dr. Crown may be reached by e-mail at: crown@psi.edu.

Lyn Doose of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Katie Holso on "Chemistry of Titan's Aerosols."

 

Dr. Doose may be reached by e-mail at: ldoose@lpl.arizona.edu.

Michael J. Drake of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Lowe on "Meteorite Studies."

 

Dr. Drake may be reached by e-mail at: drake@lpl.arizona.edu.

Wendell Ela of Chemical & Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ana Hoffnagle on "Arsenic Treatment Residuals Assessment and Stability."

 

Dr. Ela may be reached by e-mail at: wela@engr.arizona.edu.

Michael Evans of Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research/Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brianna Muhlenkamp on "Tropical isotope dendroclimatology."

 

Dr. Evans may be reached by e-mail at: mevans@ltrr.arizona.edu.

Chuck Fellows of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Victoria Harris on "Optimization of PI control parameters for a miniature calorimeter."

 

Dr. Fellows may be reached by e-mail at: cfellows@lpl.arizona.edu.

Charles Gerba of Soil, Water, and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Robert Seaman on "Water purification with aquatic plants."

 

Dr. Gerba may be reached by e-mail at: gerba@ag.arizona.edu.

Caitlin Griffith of Planetary Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Adam Bittner on "Seasonal changes in Titan's atmosphere."

 

Dr. Griffith may be reached by e-mail at: griffith@lpl.arizona.edu.

Jarita Holbrook of BARA is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Heather Fauland on "Astronomy & Culture."

 

Dr. Holbrook may be reached by e-mail at: holbrook@u.arizona.edu.

Kenneth Johns of physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Bryan Davidson on "Probing Inner Space with the Fermilab Tevatron."

 

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@fnal.gov.

Kevin Kremeyer of Physics, Materials, and Applied Mathematics Research is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Logan Beeghly on "Space Propulsion using Laser Ablation."

 

Dr. Kremeyer may be reached by e-mail at: kremeyer@physics-math.com.

Kevin Kremeyer of Physics, Materials, and Applied Mathematics Research is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matthew Beller on "optical characterization and effects of small particles."

 

Dr. Kremeyer may be reached by e-mail at: kremeyer@physics-math.com.

David Kring of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern James Hoy on "Detailed Morphology of Large Martian Complex Craters: Comparison and Contrast to the Chicxulub Impact Crater on Earth."

 

Dr. Kring may be reached by e-mail at: kring@LPL.arizona.edu.

Stephen Kukolich of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Aaron Bennett on "Microwave Measurements on Molecules of Possible Astrophysical Interest, and Metal containing Molecules."

 

Dr. Kukolich may be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu.

Stephen Larson of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Caitlin Casey on "Determinig optimal TNO search strategy."

 

Dr. Larson may be reached by e-mail at: slarson@lpl.arizona.edu.

Dante Lauretta of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alyssa La Blue on "Meteorites and the Early Solar System."

 

Dr. Lauretta may be reached by e-mail at: lauretta@lpl.arizona.edu.

Doug Lombardi of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Katelun May on "Phoenix Mars Mission-EPO."

 

Dr. Lombardi may be reached by e-mail at: lombardi@lpl.arizona.edu.

Ralph Lorenz of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Myers on "Dynamics of Unusual Aerospace Vehicles."

 

Dr. Lorenz may be reached by e-mail at: rlorenz@lpl.arizona.edu.

Stuart Marsh of Office of Arid Lands Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeffrey Goodhue on "The Arizona Regional Image Archive."

 

Dr. Marsh may be reached by e-mail at: smarsh@ag.arizona.edu.

Stuart Marsh of Office of Arid Lands Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Innes-Gawn on "The Arizona Regional Image Archive."

 

Dr. Marsh may be reached by e-mail at: smarsh@ag.arizona.edu.

Alfred McEwen of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Studer on "Mars secondary cratering."

 

Dr. McEwen may be reached by e-mail at: mcewen@lpl.arizona.edu.

Mark Nearing of Ag and Bio Engineering & Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ricardo Gradillas on "Measuring Hillslope Erosion Rates."

 

Dr. Nearing may be reached by e-mail at: mnearing@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Kimberly Ogden of Chemical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Panagos on "Water recycle and Reuse."

 

Dr. Ogden may be reached by e-mail at: ogden@u.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Lands Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Yuta Torrey on "The Arizona Regional Image Archive."

 

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Deswood Nofchissey on "Bridging the Digital Divide through Geospatial Technology Transfer."

 

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Robert Reynolds of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Adra Victoria Carr on "ACES Spectrograph."

 

Dr. Reynolds may be reached by e-mail at: reynolds@as.arizona.edu.

Mark Riley of Ag. and Biosystems Engin is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Diana DeRosa on "Characterization of surface properties for enchance cell adhesion."

 

Dr. Riley may be reached by e-mail at: riley@ag.arizona.edu.

Eduardo Saez of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rosemary Galhotra on "Modified Fuel Cells for Treatment of Air Contaminated with Chlorinated Hydrocarbons."

 

Dr. Saez may be reached by e-mail at: esaez@engr.arizona.edu.

Chris Shinohara of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Marilynn Garibay on "Science Operations Center Manager."

 

Dr. Shinohara may be reached by e-mail at: chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

Chris Shinohara of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Peter Manning on "Science Operations Center Manager."

 

Dr. Shinohara may be reached by e-mail at: chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

Reyes Sierra of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ryan Kanto on "Microbial Transformation on Arsenic."

 

Dr. Sierra may be reached by e-mail at: rsierra@email.arizona.edu.

Susan Skirvin of USDA-ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Donna King on "Vegetation Change in southeastern Arizona."

 

Dr. Skirvin may be reached by e-mail at: sskirvin@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Roger Tanner of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Grace Shih on "Phoenix Project."

 

Dr. Tanner may be reached by e-mail at: rtanner@lpl.arizona.edu.

Roger Tanner of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Shilpi Roy on "Science Operations Center Manager."

 

Dr. Tanner may be reached by e-mail at: chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

David Thoma of USDA-ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ismail Osman on "Determining optimum scale for soil moisture prediction using radar imagery."

 

Dr. Thoma may be reached by e-mail at: dthoma@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

David Trilling of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Richard Crudo on "The formation history of the outer Solar System."

 

Dr. Trilling may be reached by e-mail at: trilling@as.arizona.edu.

Anatoli Tumin of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ryan White on "Laminar-turbulent transition on a reentry vehicle."

 

Dr. Tumin may be reached by e-mail at: tumin@email.arizona.edu.

Elizabeth Turtle of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Emily Hardegree-Ullman on "Analysis of Titan images."

 

Dr. Turtle may be reached by e-mail at: turtle@lpl.arizona.edu.