Undergraduate Mentors 2005-2006

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Daniel Apai of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Yancey Sechrest on "Exploring Planet formation at its extremes: Disk models based on Spitzer Space Telescope observations of Brown Dwarf Disks."

 

Dr. Apai may be reached by e-mail at: apai@as.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Apai's website.

Steve Archer of School of Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jenna Root on "Assessing the Consequences of Land Cover Change."

 

Dr. Archer may be reached by e-mail at: sarcher@ag.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Archer's website.

Jill Bechtold of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Meri Hembree on "Search for Absorbers Towards X-ray Bright Quasars."

 

Dr. Bechtold may be reached by e-mail at: jill@as.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Bechtold's website.

Julio Betancourt of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ben Wilder on "Buffelgrass Eradication and Outreach Program."

 

Dr. Betancourt may be reached by e-mail at: jlbetanc@usgs.gov.
View Dr. Betancourt's website.

Paul Blowers of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kyle Marr on "Estimation of Atmospheric Lifetimes and Global Warming Potentials of Halogenated Volatile Organic Compounds."

 

Dr. Blowers may be reached by e-mail at: blowers@engr.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Blowers website.

Jon Chorover of Soil, Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Richard Rushforth on "Trace elements as biosignatures in weathering processes."

 

Dr. Chorover may be reached by e-mail at: chorover@cals.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Chorover's website.

Andrew Comrie of Geography is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kevin Chandler on "Seasonal Frequency and Intensity of Daily Rainfall."

 

Dr. Comrie may be reached by e-mail at: comrie@arizona.edu.
View Dr. Comrie's website.

Michael Crimmins of Soil, Water, & Env. Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Quiroz on "Exploratory Data Analysis of Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument Environmental Mesonet Data."

 

Dr. Crimmins may be reached by e-mail at: crimmins@u.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Crimmins' website.

Donald Davis of International Dark-sky Association is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Dominic Leone on "A Nation-wide Sight Brightness Measurement Program: Phase I."

 

Dr. Davis may be reached by e-mail at: drd@psi.edu.
View Dr. Davis' website.

Jim Field of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Pieter Rowlette on "Anoxic oxidation of arsenite."

 

Dr. Field may be reached by e-mail at: jimfield@email.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Field's website.

Uwe Fink and Doug Lombardi (ASCEND!) of the Lunar and Planetary Lab are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Yuridia Robeson.

 

View Dr. Fink's website.

View Dr. Lombardi's website.

 

Uwe Fink and Doug Lombardi (ASCEND!) of the Lunar and Planetary Lab are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joshua Nelson.

View Dr. Fink's website.

View Dr. Lombardi's website.

 

Uwe Fink and Doug Lombardi (ASCEND!) of the Lunar and Planetary Lab are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rebeca Rodriguez.

View Dr. Fink's website.

View Dr. Lombardi's website.

 

Charles Gerba of Soil, Water, and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Deena Clark on "Disinfection for graywater reuse on space craft."

 

Dr. Gerba may be reached by e-mail at: gerba@ag.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Gerba's website.

Philip Heilman of USDA-ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Esther Rivera on "Geologic and Soil Influences on Ecological Sites."

 

Dr. Heilman may be reached by e-mail at: pheilman@tucson.ars.ag.gov.
View Dr. Heilman's website.

Ignacio Ibarra of Arizona Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Susan Bonicillo.

 

Dr. Ibarra may be reached by e-mail at: iibarra@azstarnet.com.

Douglas Isbell of NOAO Office of Public Affairs & Educational Outreach is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Shiva Kiani on "Kitt Peak 50th Anniversary Materials."

 

Dr. Isbell may be reached by e-mail at: disbell@noao.edu.
View Dr. Isbell's website.

Kenneth Johns of physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Seth Merickel on "Probing Inner Space with the Fermilab Tevatron."

 

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@fnal.gov.
View Dr. Johns' website.

Serena Kim of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matthew Foster on "Nature or Nurture: Probing Star Formation in Diverse Environments."

 

Dr. Kim may be reached by e-mail at: serena@as.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Kim's website.

Kevin Kremeyer of PM&AM Research is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mary Heeley on "Laser Scattering to Probe Ballast Water."

 

Dr. Kremeyer may be reached by e-mail at: kremeyer@physics-math.com.
View Dr. Kremeyer's website.

Chieri Kubota of Plant Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Katherine Dietrich on "Enhancing nutritional value of tomato, a candidate crop grown in space."

 

Dr. Kubota may be reached by e-mail at: ckubota@ag.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Kubota's website.

Steve Kukolich of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brendan Fry on "Microwave Spectroscopy."

 

Dr. Kukolich may be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Kukolich's website.

Kevin Lansey of Civil Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joshua Garber on "Application of water resources simulation model."

 

Dr. Lansey may be reached by e-mail at: lansey@engr.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Lansey's website.

Dante Lauretta of the Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniella Della-Giustina on "Trace-Element Cosmochemistry."

 

Dr. Lauretta may be reached by e-mail at: lauretta@lpl.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Lauretta's website.

Leo Lopes of Systems and Industrial Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrew Friedman on "Human Guided Optimization Modeling."

 

Dr. Lopes may be reached by e-mail at: leo@sie.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Lopes's website.

Doug Lombardi of Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jesse Cornia on "Phoenix Mars Mission E/PO Program."

 

Dr. Lombardi may be reached by e-mail at: lombardi@lpl.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Lombardi's website.

 

Ralph Lorenz of the Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chad Franke on "Windchill on Mars and Earth."

 

Dr. Lorenz may be reached by e-mail at: rlorenz@lpl.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Lorenz's website.

Sharon Megdal of Water Resources Research Center and Agricultural and Resource Economics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Magdalena Escobedo on "Water Management in Arizona."

 

Dr. Megdal may be reached by e-mail at: smegdal@ag.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Megdal's website.

Sergio Mendes of Chemistry/Optical Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jill Craven on "Investigation of Structure/Function in Biomolecular Assemblies using Optical Waveguides."

 

Dr. Mendes may be reached by e-mail at: sergiom@email.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Mendes' website.

Michael Meyer of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alan Aversa on "Distinguishing Stars and Planets: Disentangling the IMF and the Companion Mass Ratio Distribution."

 

Dr. Meyer may be reached by e-mail at: mmeyer@as.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Meyer's website.

Susan Moran of USDA-ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ryan Manon on "A Multi-Temporal Analysis of Landsat Satellite Imagery."

 

Dr. Moran may be reached by e-mail at: smoran@tucson.ars.ag.gov.
View Dr. Moran's website.

Mark Nearing of Ag and Bio Eng & ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joyanna Paski on "Assessment of 10 years of Sediment Data from SE Arizona."

 

Dr. Nearing may be reached by e-mail at: mnearing@tucson.ars.ag.gov.
View Dr. Nearing's website.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern John Moeller on "Building Arizona’s Wildfire Prevention Capacity through Geospatial Technology."

 

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Orr's website.

Paul Robbins of Geography and Regional Development is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rayna Farnsworth on "Environmental History of the Mosquito in Southern Arizona."

 

Dr. Robbins may be reached by e-mail at: robbins@email.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Robbins' website.

Reyes Sierra of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Devin Wiley on "Remediation techniques for perfluorinated surfactants."

 

Dr. Sierra may be reached by e-mail at: rsierra@email.arizona.edu.
ViewDr. Sierra's website.

The Phoenix Mission of the Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Cherie Achilles.

 

View The Phoenix Mission website.

The Phoenix Mission of the Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Barnes.

 

View The Phoenix Mission website.

Willem van Leeuwen of Office of Arid Lands Studies/Arizona Remote Sensing Center is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Davison on "Monitoring Vegetation Recovery of Retired Croplands with Field and Satellite data."

 

Dr. van Leeuwen may be reached by e-mail at: leeuw@ag.arizona.edu.
View Dr. van Leeuwen's website.

Kurtis Williams of Astronomy & Astrophysics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Scott Waitukaitis on "Southern Hemisphere Open Cluster DREAMs."

 

Dr. Williams may be reached by e-mail at: kurtis@as.arizona.edu.
View Dr. William's website.

Patrick Woida of the Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matthew Sinclair on "Opto-Mechanical Testing of Mars Surface Imager. ."

 

Dr. Woida may be reached by e-mail at: woida@lpl.arizona.edu.

Stephen Yool and Willem van Leeuwen of Geography is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sarah Mattson on "Multi-sensor performance characterization of Post-Fire Regeneration in the Santa Catalina Mountains, Arizona."

 

Dr. Yool may be reached by e-mail at: yools@email.arizona.edu.
View Dr. Yool's website.