Undergraduate Mentors 2007-2008

Roger Angel of Astronomy, Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kevin Newman on “Active Thermal Figure Control."

Dr. Angel may be reached by e-mail at: mrad@as.arizona.edu.

Robert Arnold of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Newman on “Removal of trace organic contaminants from reclaimed wastewater."

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: rga@engr.arizona.edu.

James Baygents of Chem & Env Eng'g is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jake R. Davis on “Electrocoagulation for Wastewater Treatment."

Dr. Baygents may be reached by e-mail at: jcb@maxwell.che.arizona.edu.

Julio Betancourt of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brittany Orkney on “Establishment of the USA-National Phenology Network."

Dr. Betancourt may be reached by e-mail at: jlbetanc@usgs.gov.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Desiree Polson on “Treatment of Halogenated Organics by Catalytic Converter."

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jagoda Vojvodic on “Treatment of Halogenated Organics by Catalytic Converter."

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Christopher Choi of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Bui on “Development of Simulation Models and Biosensors to Detect Biological Agents in Water ."

Dr. Choi may be reached by e-mail at: cchoi@arizona.edu.

Laird Close of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mary Peters on “First on-sky tests of optical Vortex coronagraph."

Dr. Close may be reached by e-mail at: lclose@as.arizona.edu.

Johanan Codona of Astronomy, Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Gaj on “Phase Apodization Coronagraphy."

Dr. Codona may be reached by e-mail at: jcodona@as.arizona.edu.

William Conant of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Laura Lund on “Hygroscopy of Atmospheric Nano-particles."

Dr. Conant may be reached by e-mail at: conant@atmo.arizona.edu.

Alex Cronin of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Wanegar on “Atom Interferometry."

Dr. Cronin may be reached by e-mail at: cronin@physics.arizona.edu.

Alex Cronin of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rachelle Baker on “Atom Interferometry."

Dr. Cronin may be reached by e-mail at: cronin@physics.arizona.edu.

David Crown of PSI is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Carrie Welty on “Formation of Martian Gullies: Observations and Experiments."

Dr. Crown may be reached by e-mail at: crown@psi.edu.

Bonner Denton of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Christine Bradley on “New Array Detectors for Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry."

Dr. Denton may be reached by e-mail at: mbdenton@u.arizona.edu.

Bonner Denton of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gerardo Cornejo on “New Array Detectors for Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry."

Dr. Denton may be reached by e-mail at: mbdenton@u.arizona.edu.

Eustace Dereniak of Optical Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jonathan Nation on “polarization measruements of scenes/objects."

Dr. Dereniak may be reached by e-mail at: eustace@u.arizona.edu.

Guohong Jennifer Duan of Civil Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Samuel Asaki on “Computer Visualization of the EnSed2D Model."

Dr. Duan may be reached by e-mail at: gduan@email.arizona.edu.

Wendell Ela of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kyle Heckel on “Management of Arsenic Residuals from Regenerant Sorbents."

Dr. Ela may be reached by e-mail at: wela@engr.arizona.edu.

Eniko Enikov of Aerospace and Mechanical is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Malcolm Gibson on "Drug Release of Biomedical Microrobots."

Dr. Enikov may be reached by e-mail at: enikov@engr.arizona.edu.

Michael Evans of Tree-Ring Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kelly Young on “Are paleoclimate reconstructions from tree-rings and climate models in agreement?."

Dr. Evans_1 may be reached by e-mail at: mevans@ltrr.arizona.edu.

Jim Field of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lily Milner on “Microbial conversion of arsenite in anoxic environments."

Dr. Field may be reached by e-mail at: jimfield@email.arizona.edu.

Joe Gotobed of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Maribel Hudson on “LPL Systems."

Mr. Gotobed may be reached by e-mail at: jgotobed@lpl.arizona.edu.

Christopher Groppi of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michelle Ho on “Re-commissioning the Steward Observatory Student Radio Telescope."

Dr. Groppi may be reached by e-mail at: cgroppi@as.arizona.edu.

Achintya Haldar of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chase Parker on “Health Assessment of Space Structures."

Dr. Haldar may be reached by e-mail at: haldar@u.arizona.edu.

Achintya Haldar of School of Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chase Parker on “Conservatoin and Ecology of Rattlesnakes and Gila Monsters."

Dr. Haldar may be reached by e-mail at: mgoode@ag.arizona.edu.

Sara Hammond of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chelsea Hodson on “Phoenix Mars Mission."

Ms. Hammond may be reached by e-mail at: shammond@lpl.arizona.edu.

James Head of Raytheon_Space Applications is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joseph Farrell on “Robotic lander design and development."

Dr. Head may be reached by e-mail at: jnhead@raytheon.com.

James Head of Raytheon_Space Applications is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Christopher Rogers on “Robotic lander design and development."

Dr. Head may be reached by e-mail at: jnhead@raytheon.com.

James Head of Raytheon_Space Applications is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Astrid Raisanen on “Robotic lander design and development."

Dr. Head may be reached by e-mail at: jnhead@raytheon.com.

Philip Heilman of Watershed / Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Elizabeth Desser on “Geologic influences on ecological sites along mountain fronts."

Dr. Heilman may be reached by e-mail at: pheilman@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Nobuko Kay Hongu of Nutritional Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jamie Wise on “Exploring the Use of Geospatial Technology for Accurate and Practical Measurement of Physical Activity."

Dr. Hongu may be reached by e-mail at: hongu@email.arizona.edu.

Nobuko Kay Hongu of Nutritional Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Marceline Vance on “Exploring the Use of Geospatial Technology for Accurate and Practical Measurement of Physical Activity."

Dr. Hongu may be reached by e-mail at: hongu@email.arizona.edu.

Nobuko Kay Hongu of Nutritional Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Krista Kinnard on “Exploring the Use of Geospatial Technology for Accurate and Practical Measurement of Physical Activity."

Dr. Hongu may be reached by e-mail at: hongu@email.arizona.edu.

Alfredo Huete of Soil, Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Harish Anandhanarayanan on “Time series analyses of tropical ecosystems."

Dr. Huete may be reached by e-mail at: ahuete@ag.arizona.edu.

Kenneth Johns of physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Thomas Brannock on “Preparing for discoveries at the CERN LHC collider."

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@physics.arizona.edu.

Serena Kim of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kai Lindstedt on “Bright-Rimmed Clouds: Cradles of Forming Solar Systems?."

Dr. Kim may be reached by e-mail at: serena@as.arizona.edu.

Chieri Kubota of Plant Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jessica Gamboa on “Horticultural Science."

Dr. Kubota may be reached by e-mail at: ckubota@ag.arizona.edu.

Steve Kukolich of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tristan Day on “Microwave Spectroscopy & Molecular Structure."

Dr. Kukolich may be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu.

Rob Kursinski of Atmospheric Sciences/LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Dylan Martin on “ATOMMS ."

Dr. Kursinski may be reached by e-mail at: kursinski@atmo.arizona.edu.

Stuart Marsh of Office of Arid Lands Studies/ is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ivan Lizarraga on “Enhancement of the Arizona Regional Image Archive."

Dr. Marsh may be reached by e-mail at: smarsh@ag.arizona.edu.

Alfred McEwen of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Layne Trinkley on “Mars Impact Cratering."

Dr. McEwen may be reached by e-mail at: mcewen@lpl.arizona.edu.

Guy McPherson of School of Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tahlia Bragg on “Razing Arizona: Will fire and livestock restore grasslands dominated by nonnative grasses?."

Dr. McPherson may be reached by e-mail at: grm@ag.arizona.edu.

Susan Moran of USDA is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jessica Kashian on “Relating soil texture to infiltration rates in developed versus undeveloped watersheds."

Dr. Moran may be reached by e-mail at: smoran@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Anthony Muscat of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Genevieve Max on “Surface chemistry and physics of Ge and III-V materials."

Dr. Muscat may be reached by e-mail at: muscat@erc.arizona.edu.

Leslie Anne Newell of Arizona Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Laticia Murphy on “NASA Space Grant Business-Writing Position."

Ms. Newell may be reached by e-mail at: lnewell@azstarnet.com.

Leslie Newell of Arizona Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jakob Hanes on “Reporting Internship."

Ms. Newell may be reached by e-mail at: lnewell@azstarnet.com.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Lands Studies/Cooperative Extension is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Diletta Dang on “Community Asset Mapping by Disadvantaged Youth in Downtown Tucson."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Lands Studies/Cooperative Extension is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Vanessa Valenzuela on “High Tech, High Touch: Professional Development in Geospatial Applications for Invasive Species Management."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Lands Studies/Cooperative Extension is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Kopplin on “Learning to Grow: Options for a Changing Landscape."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Lands Studies/Cooperative Extension is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Erica Koltenuk on “Community-based Approaches to Environmental Problems on the Arizona-Sonora Border."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Ilaria Pascucci of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tracy Heran on “Identifying the key factors in the planet formation process."

Dr. Pascucci may be reached by e-mail at: pascucci@as.arizona.edu.

Linda Powers of ECE is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Salkoff on “Looking for Life on Mars."

Dr. Powers may be reached by e-mail at: lsp@ece.arizona.edu.

Kelly Reynolds of College of Public Health is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Cassandra Andrade on “MRSA infections in paramedic populations."

Dr. Reynolds may be reached by e-mail at: reynolds@u.arizona.edu.

Eduardo Saez of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kathryn Cook on “Environmental applications of encapsulation technologies for controlled release of water- soluble compounds."

Dr. Saez may be reached by e-mail at: esaez@engr.arizona.edu.

Eduardo Saez of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Liz Uribe on “Modeling of Cohesionless Granular Flows."

Dr. Saez may be reached by e-mail at: esaez@engr.arizona.edu.

David Sand of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Allison Strom on “A Search for Tidal Debris in Galaxy Cluster Cores."

Dr. Sand may be reached by e-mail at: dsand@as.arizona.edu.

Chris Shinohara of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Patricia Wroblewski on “Phoenix Mars Scout Mission."

Dr. Shinohara may be reached by e-mail at: Chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

Chris Shinohara of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrew Levine on “Phoenix Mars Scout Mission."

Dr. Shinohara may be reached by e-mail at: Chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

Chris Shinohara of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Clayton Chu on “Phoenix Mars Scout Mission."

Dr. Shinohara may be reached by e-mail at: Chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

Chris Shinohara of LPL/PTSY is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Hamza Kolaghsi on “Phoenix Mars Scout Mission."

Dr. Shinohara may be reached by e-mail at: Chriss@lpl.arizona.edu.

Reyes Sierra of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chandra Khatri on “Remediation techniques for perfluorinated surfactants."

Dr. Sierra may be reached by e-mail at: rsierra@email.arizona.edu.

Juan Valdes of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Hwang on “Evaluation of Hydrologic Applications of Global Precipitation Measurement Mission."

Dr. Valdes may be reached by e-mail at: jvaldes@u.arizona.edu.

Jonathan Vande Geest of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Amanda Eskinazi on “Microstructural characterization of vascular and ocular tissues."

Dr. Vande Geest may be reached by e-mail at: vandegeestjp@ame.arizona.edu.

Jeong-Yeol Yoon of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Anbar Najam on “Reconfigurable digital magnetofluidics for pathogen detection."

Dr. Yoon may be reached by e-mail at: jyyoon@email.arizona.edu.