Undergraduate Mentors 2008-2009

Roger Angel of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alberto Arvayo on “Development of Concentrator Photovoltaic for Solar Electricity."

Dr. Angel may be reached by e-mail at: mrad@as.arizona.edu.

Roger Angel of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alicia Sarah Brown on “Development of Concentrator Photovoltaic for Solar Electricity."

Dr. Angel_2 may be reached by e-mail at: mrad@as.arizona.edu.

Roger Angel of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Ross on “Development of Concentrator Photovoltaic for Solar Electricity."

Dr. Angel may be reached by e-mail at: mrad@as.arizona.edu.

Robert Arnold of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Arthur Ho on “Accumulation of trace organic contaminants during water reuse."

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: rga@engr.arizona.edu.

Robert Arnold of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Natasha Sinha on “Accumulation of trace organic contaminants during water reuse."

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: rga@engr.arizona.edu.

James Baygents of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kyle Kryger on “Electrochemical treatment of wasewaters."

Dr. Baygents may be reached by e-mail at: jcb@maxwell.che.arizona.edu.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Paul Rheinheimer on “Mine tailings dust characterization."

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Giovanni Bosco of Molecular and Cellular Biology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Aaron Khan on “arid Terrestrial microbial diversity and potential insights to exobiology."

Dr. Bosco may be reached by e-mail at: gbosco@email.arizona.edu.

James Callegary of US Geological Survey is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kyle Withers on “Hydrologic Characterization of the Willcox and Douglas Basins."

Dr. Callegary may be reached by e-mail at: jcallega@usgs.gov.

Christopher Choi of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Zachary Dean on “Advanced Modeling in Water Distribution Systems."

Dr. Choi may be reached by e-mail at: cchoi@arizona.edu.

Laird Close of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jason Dittmann on “Investigation of the Surprising Anomalies in the Transit of Extrasolar Planet TRES1b."

Dr. Close may be reached by e-mail at: lclose@as.arizona.edu.

Alex Cronin of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Niket Thakkar on “Atom Interferometry."

Dr. Cronin may be reached by e-mail at: cronin@physics.arizona.edu.

Alex Cronin of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Revelle on “Atom Interferometry."

Dr. Cronin may be reached by e-mail at: cronin@physics.arizona.edu.

David Crown of Planetary Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ruben Rivas on “Lava Flows of Arsia Mons, Mars."

Dr. Crown may be reached by e-mail at: crown@psi.edu.

Robert Downs of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Charlene Estrada on “RRUFF project."

Dr. Downs may be reached by e-mail at: rdowns@u.arizona.edu.

Guohong Duan of Civil Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ramsey Coronado on “Flow and Sediment Transport around Spur Dikes."

Dr. Duan may be reached by e-mail at: gduan@email.arizona.edu.

Wendell Ela of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Justin Nixon on “Enhanced Water Recovery from RO Desalination."

Dr. Ela may be reached by e-mail at: wela@engr.arizona.edu.

Eniko Enikov of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Thomas Brown on “Autonomous Micro-Robotic Drug Delivery System."

Dr. Enikov may be reached by e-mail at: enikov@engr.arizona.edu.

Eniko Enikov of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Richard Lucio on “LEGO Enineering Robotics Club."

Dr. Enikov may be reached by e-mail at: enikov@engr.arizona.edu.

Roberto Furfaro of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Steven Forbes on “Wind-based navigation of a hot-air Titan balloon."

Dr. Furfaro may be reached by e-mail at: robertof@email.arizona.edu.

Douglas Gawain of the Tucson Citizen is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Frank.

Mr. Gawain may be reached by e-mail at: gdouglas@email.arizona.edu.

Indraneel Ghosh of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Akshay Sriprasad on “Complex Systems and Detection Systems."

Dr. Ghosh may be reached by e-mail at: ghosh@email.arizona.edu.

Lisa Graumlich of School of Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jasmine McBeath on “Assessing Context of Declining Snowpack in the West."

Dr. Graumlich may be reached by e-mail at: lisag@cals.arizona.edu.

Richard Greenberg of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Adriana Riggs on “Topography of Europa ."

Dr. Greenberg may be reached by e-mail at: greenberg@lpl.arizona.edu.

Christopher Groppi of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Adrian Lizarraga on “The Steward Observatory Student Radio Telescope."

Dr. Groppi may be reached by e-mail at: cgroppi@as.arizona.edu.

Roberto Guzman of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Vanessa Gutierrez on “Protein Engineering for Long Term Space Exploration."

Dr. Guzman may be reached by e-mail at: guzmanr@u.arizona.edu.

Henry Hall of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alexandru Dospinoiu on “Liquid Crystal Polymeers for Fuel Containers."

Dr. Hall may be reached by e-mail at: hkh@u.arizona.edu.

John G. Hildebrand of ARL Division of Neurobiology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kayla Peck on “insect behavioral neurobiology."

Dr. Hildebrand may be reached by e-mail at: jgh@neurobio.arizona.edu.

Nobuko (Kay) Hongu of Nutritional Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Martha Mosqueda on “Inducing Physical Activity in Adolescents using Earth Science Data and Technology ."

Dr. Hongu may be reached by e-mail at: hongu@email.arizona.edu.

Mari Jensen of College of Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Megan Levardo on “Science-writing internship."

Dr. Jensen may be reached by e-mail at: mnjensen@email.arizona.edu.

Kenneth Johns of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Albert Delp on “Testing Very High Speed Fiber Optics for a Particle Physics Application."

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@physics.arizona.edu.

Steve Kukolich of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Frazier Carsten on “Microwave Spectroscopy & Molecular Structure."

Dr. Kukolich may be reached by e-mail at: Kukolich@u.arizona.edu.

Emil Kursinski of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brian Wheelwright on “Developing a new climate remote sensing instrument."

Dr. Kursinski may be reached by e-mail at: kursinski@atmo.arizona.edu.

Dante Lauretta of Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Courtney King on “Chemistry of the Early Solar System."

Dr. Lauretta may be reached by e-mail at: lauretta@lpl.arizona.edu.

Dante Lauretta of Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Katrina Jackson on “Chemistry of the Early Solar System."

Dr. Lauretta may be reached by e-mail at: lauretta@lpl.arizona.edu.

Michael LLoyd-Hart of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kyle Stephens on “Large Binocular Telescope Laser Guide Star."

Dr. LLoyd-Hart may be reached by e-mail at: mhart@as.arizona.edu.

Jennifer McIntosh of Hydrology and Water Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Damian Gosch on “Effects of outburst flooding on freshwater recharge to basalt aquifers."

Dr. McIntosh may be reached by e-mail at: mcintosh@hwr.arizona.edu.

Thomas Meixner of Hydrology and Water Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Meggie Erickson on “North American Monsoon Recharge Processes."

Dr. Meixner may be reached by e-mail at: tmeixner@hwr.arizona.edu.

Leslie Anne Newell of Arizona Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Evan Pellegrino on “NASA Space Grant News-Writing Position."

Dr. Newell may be reached by e-mail at: lnewell@azstarnet.com.

Leslie Anne Newell of Arizona Daily Star is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel P Sullivan on “NASA Space Grant Business-Writing Position."

Dr. Newell may be reached by e-mail at: lnewell@azstarnet.com.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Land Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Erin Boyd on “Technology Transfer through Youth-Driven Community Asset Mapping III: PYT Computer Clubhouse."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Land Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lila Burgos on “Technology Transfer through Youth-Driven Community Asset Mapping II: Douglas, Arizona."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Land Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Stanley on “Facilitating Online Learning of Geospatial Technology for Invasive Species Managemen."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Office of Arid Land Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stefanie Woodward on “Technology Transfer through Youth-Driven Community Asset Mapping I: Skrappy’s."

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@email.arizona.edu.

Michael Parker of Rincon Research Corp. is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joseph Rainey on “CubeSat research."

Dr. Parker may be reached by e-mail at: parker@rincon.com.

Michael Parker of Rincon Research Corp. is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matt Bunting on “CubeSat research."

Dr. Parker may be reached by e-mail at: parker@rincon.com.

Eduardo Saez of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rodrigo Lopez on “Advanced oxidation processes for tretament of endocrine disrupters."

Dr. Saez may be reached by e-mail at: esaez@email.arizona.edu.

Yancy Shirley of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Schenck on “Probing Protostellar Properties at Millimeter Wavelengths."

Dr. Shirley may be reached by e-mail at: yshirley@as.arizona.edu.

Paul Smith of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Edward Montiel on “Exploring the Gamma-Ray/Optical Connection in Blazars."

Dr. Smith may be reached by e-mail at: psmith@as.arizona.edu.

Jeffry Stone of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Leonard Cratic on “Runoff and erosion processes on rangelands."

Dr. Stone may be reached by e-mail at: jeff.stone@ars.usda.gov.

Jonathan Vande Geest of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Megan Alexander on “Recurrent Laryngeal Nerve Biomechanics."

Dr. Vande Geest may be reached by e-mail at: jpv1@email.arizona.edu.

Janet Wang of Electrical and Computer Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joseph Caglio on “Resilient Circuit designs for space applications."

Dr. Wang may be reached by e-mail at: wml@ece.arizona.edu.

Janet Wang of Electrical and Computer Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Allison Villa on “Resilient Circuit designs for space applications."

Dr. Wang may be reached by e-mail at: wml@ece.arizona.edu.

Jake Weltzin of Office of Arid Land Studies is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Paula Landry on “Phenology as a tool for human adaptation to climate change."

Dr. Weltzin may be reached by e-mail at: jweltzin@usgs.gov.

Stephen Yool of Geography is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jimmy Mack on “LiDAR Fire Modeling."

Dr. Yool may be reached by e-mail at: yools@email.arizona.edu.

Jeong-Yeol Yoon of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Yee Tchao on “Nanoarray-Type Detection of Oct3/4 and Cdx2 Using AuNPs and E-Beam Patterns."

Dr. Yoon may be reached by e-mail at: jyyoon@email.arizona.edu.

Dennis Zaritsky of Astronomy is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Felicia Werchan on “Star Clusters in the Large Magellanic Cloud."

Dr. Zaritsky may be reached by e-mail at: dzaritsky@as.arizona.edu.

Xubin Zeng of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Dimitri Ververelli on “Global monsoon onset."

Dr. Zeng may be reached by e-mail at: xubin@atmo.arizona.edu.