Undergraduate Mentors 1997-1998

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Robert Arnold is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Chemical/Environmental Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Interns Cindy Takeuchi and Kristen Taylor on "Electrolytic destruction of halogenated aliphatics".

Robert can be reached by e-mail at: arnold@bigdog.engr.arizona edu.

Roger Bales is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Hydrology and Water Resources Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tiffany House on "Greenland Ice Cores, Ice sheet Mass Balance and Atmospheric Chemistry".

Roger can be reached by e-mail at: roger@hwr.arizona.edu.

Michael Belton and Elizabeth Alvarez are an astronomer/manager team at the National Optical Astronomy Observatories. They are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Lyons on "Bringing Jupiter to Earth". Michael can be reached by e-mail at: mbelton@noao.edu.

Elizabeth can be reached by email at: ealvarezs@noao.edu.

Eric Betterton is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Atmospheric Sciences Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Conchetta Walker on "Environmental Fate of Azide Derived from Air Bags".

Eric can be reached by e-mail at: better@air.atmo.arizona.edu.

Stephen Bougher is an Assistant Research Scientist in the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Babicke on "Mars Global Surveyor: Aerobraking into Orbit".

Stephen can be reached by e-mail at: bougher@lpl.arizona.edu.

William Boynton is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Calkins on "The Thermal and Evolved Gas Analyzer (TEGA)".

William can be reached by e-mail at: wboynton@lpl.arizona.edu.

Susan Brew is the Space Grant Program Coordinator for the Arizona Space Grant Consortium and the UA Space Grant Program at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Scott Golper on "Student Satellite Project Administration".

Susan can be reached by e-mail at: sbrew@seds.org.

Wayne Chen is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Aerospace/Mechanical Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Creighton Anderson on "Student Satellite Project Structure Development".

Wayne can be reached by e-mail at: wchen@ame.arizona.edu.

Andrew Comrie is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Geography & Regional Development Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brian Decker on "Assessing climate variability in the UA-Mexico border region".

Andrew can be reached by e-mail at: comrie@climate.geog.arizona.edu.

Donald Davis and Eric Crane are astronomers at the Planetary Science Institute. They are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gilbert Esquerdo on "Physical observations of asteroids and comets using automated telescopes".

Donald can be reached by e-mail at: drd@psi.edu.

Dominick Delucca, is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Microbiology/Immunology Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Krista Banks on "Effect of Microgravity on the Development of the Immune System".

Dominick can be reached by e-mail at: deluca@u.arizona.edu.

Michael Drake is a Professor at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Lowe on "Origin of the Moon".

Michael can be reached by e-mail at: drake@lpl.arizona.edu.

Jim Erickson is the Science Editor for the Arizona Daily Star. He is mentoring Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Sterba, a Space Grant student science reporter.

Jim can be reached by e-mail at: erickson@azstarnet.com.

Ernest Fasse is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Aerospace/Mechanical Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Brokl on "Attitude control actuator design for student satellite".

Ernest can be reached by e-mail at: fasse@u.arizona.edu.

Uwe Fink is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Guthrie Partridge on "Space based satellite photometer".

Uwe can be reached by e-mail at: uwefink@lpl.arizona.edu.

Charles Gerba is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Soil & Water Science Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lisa Casanova on "Water recycling for hygiene and consumption as a critical component of manned spacecraft".

Charles can be reached by e-mail at: gerbaAaruba.ccit.arizona.edu.

Richard Greenberg is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gregoria Lyssikatos on "Image Processing for Teaching".

Richard can be reached by e-mail at: greenberg@lpl.arizona.edu.

Raphael Gruener is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Physiology Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Eric Speir on "Neuron development in altered gravity".

Raphael can be reached by e-mail at: rgruener@u.arizona.edu


William Hartmann is a scientist at the Planetary Science Institute. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gregg Herres on "Analysis of data from the Mars Global Surveyor Mission".

William can be reached by e-mail at: hartmann@psi.edu


E. Keith Hege is an Astronomer in the University of Arizona's Astronomy Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ashley Page on " Point Spread Function Calibration".

E. Keith can be reached by e-mail at: hege@as.arizona.edu


Lonnie Hood is a Research Scientist at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tamara Rogers on "Lunar Prospector magnetometer data analysis".

Lonnie can be reached by e-mail at: lon@lpl.arizona.edu


Alfredo Huete is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Soil & Water Science Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Interns Albert Yee, and Tina Frost on "Monitoring land cover change with satellite data".

Alfredo can be reached by e-mail at: ahuete@ag.arizona.edu


Donald Huffman is a Regent's Professor in the University of Arizona's Physics Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sarah Meadows on "Fullerence composites for gas storage applications".

Donald can be reached by e-mail at: huffmann@physics.arizona.edu


Suzanne Jacoby is an Education Officer at the National Optical Astronomy Observatories. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Louis Jisonna on "NOAO K-12 Educational Outreach".

Suzanne can be reached by e-mail at: sjacoby@noao.edu


Mick Jensen is the News Director for KVOA Channel 4. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Julian Lopez on "Science Writing for Television".

Mick can be reached by e-mail at: mjensen@kvoa.com


Timothy Jull is a Research Scientist in the University of Arizona's Geosciences Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sarah Klandrud on "Terrestrial residence ages of meteorites from desert environments".

Timothy can be reached by e-mail at: jull@u.arizona.edu


Christina Kennedy is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Plant Pathology Department. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Culbertson on "Analysis of genes for nitrogen fixation in Acetobacter diazotrophicus".

Christina can be reached by e-mail at: ckennedy@u.arizona.edu


John Kessler is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Physics Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Marthaler on "Swimming microorganisms: Collective and gravitational effects".

John can be reached by e-mail at: kessler@physics.arizona.edu


Steve Kukolich is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Chemistry Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Robert Thompson on "Microwave Spectroscopy Measurements on Molecules of Astrophysical Interest".

Steve can be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu


Kevin Lansey is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Chemical/Environmental Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ellen Caskie on "Sustainability of soil-aquifer treatment".

Kevin can be reached by e-mail at: lansey@bigdog.engr.arizona.edu


Stephen Larson is a Senior Research Associate at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jason Cuny on "Charting the Asteroid Distribution".

Stephen can be reached by e-mail at: slarson@lpl.arizona.edu


Larry Lebofsky is an Senior Research Scientist at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeanine Joiner on "IDEA grant, ASTA, CSTA, and NSTA support".

Larry can be reached by e-mail at: lebofsky@hindmost.lpl.arizona.edu.

 

Donald McCarthy is an Astronomer in the University of Arizona's Astronomy Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Becki Norris on "Hands-on Research and Education at Astronomy Camp" .

Donald can be reached by e-mail at: dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu


Guy McPherson is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's School of Renewable Natural Resources Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Elizabeth Perry on "Effects of elevated CO2 on native plant communities".

Guy can be reached by e-mail at: grm@ag.arizona.edu


Erzsebet Merenyi is a Staff Scientist at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrew Iles on "Neural Network Applications in Space Science".

Erzsebet can be reached by e-mail at: erzsebet@pirl.lpl.arizona.edu


Kimberly Ogden is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Chemical/Environmental Engineering Department. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lucinda Begay on "Metal remediation using water soluble polymer".

Kimberly can be reached by e-mail at: ogden@engr.arizona.edu


Alfonso Ortega is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Aerospace/Mechanical Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tim Webb on "Flow Visualization in Electronics Thermal Management".

Alfonso can be reached by e-mail at: ortega@ccit.arizona.edu


Matt Penn is a scientist at the National Optical Astronomy Observatories. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Mello on "Space-based Observations of the Solar Atmosphere".

Matthew can be reached at: mpenn@noao.edu


Thomas Peterson is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Chemical/Environmental Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrea Vicars on "Modeling Equilibrium Electrolyte Chemistry of Wafer Rinse Processes in Semiconductor Device Manufacturing".

Thomas can be reached by e-mail at: peterson@erc.arizona.edu


Nilton Renno is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Atmospheric Sciences Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Christopher Ingraham on "A Remotely Piloted Vehicle for Thermodynamic Measurements in the Lower Troposphere".

Nilton can be reached by e-mail at: renno@soar.atmo.arizona.edu


Evelyn Rider is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Pediatrics Department. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lulu Shih on "Effect of simulated microgravity on inhaled steroid responsiveness of transgenic mice".

Evelyn can be reached by e-mail at: erider@peds.arizona.edu


Ina Sarcevic is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Physics Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeffrey Reifenberger on "High-Energy Neutrinos". Ina can be reached by e-mail at: ina@gluon.physics.arizona.edu


KR Sridhar is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Aerospace/Mechanical Engineering Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Krista Nunn on "Oxygen Generation from Martian Atmosphere".

KR can be reached by e-mail at: sridhar@shakti.ame.arizona.edu


Lori Stiles is an Information Specialist in the University of Arizona's UA's Office of Public Information Department. She is mentoring Undergraduate Research Intern Kevin Guerrero as a "Student science reporter".

Lori can be reached by e-mail at: lstiles@u.arizona.edu


Robert Strom is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Planetary Sciences/Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Christy McGill on "A Past Ocean on Mars?".

Bob can be reached by e-mail at: rstrom@pirl.lpl.arizona.edu


Timothy Swindle is an Associate Professor at the University of Arizona's Lunar & Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ryan Wilkinson on "Using eyewitness accounts to search for streams of meteorites".

Tim can be reached by e-mail at: tswindle@lpl.arizona.edu


Mark Tischler is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Biochemistry Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Noura Eleid on "Mechanisms of Muscle Atrophy".

Mark can be reached by e-mail at: tischler@u.arizona.edu


Connie Walker is an Assistant Staff Scientist in the University of Arizona's Astronomy Department. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jonathan Ward on "How do stellar nurseries form stars under the harsh conditions at the Galactic Center?".

Connie can be reached by e-mail at: connie@as.arizona.edu


William H. Wing is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Physics Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mathew Bosse on "Science & Technology Initiatives Team, UA Student Satellite Project (SSP-STI)".

William H. can be reached by e-mail at: bwing@physics.arizona.edu


Mark Witten is a Research Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Pediatrics Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Beth Bradshaw on " Fluid Distribution in a Simulated Microgravity Model".

Mark can be reached by e-mail at: mwitten@ccit.arizona.edu


Mark Witten is a Research Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Pediatrics Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Luisa Ikner on "Early Changes in Kidney Blood Flow in a Simulated Microgravity Model".

Mark can be reached by e-mail at:

Erick Young is an Associate Astronomer in the University of Arizona's Astronomy Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Bob Zavala on "Survey of Young Stellar Populations".

Erick can be reached by e-mail at: eyoung@as.arizona.edu


Xubin Zeng is a Research Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Atmospheric Sciences Department. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrew Folkening on "Surface fluxes over tropical Pacific Ocean".

Xubin can be reached by e-mail at: xubin@gogo.atmo.arizona.edu