Undergraduate Mentors 1998-1999

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Farhad Akhavan is a Research Associate in the University of Arizona's Department of Optical Sciences. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brad Rex on "Dynamic Visible Light Tester for Optical Data Storage."

Farhad can be reached by e-mail at: farhad@u.arizona.edu

Robert G. Arnold is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sarah Stewart on "Reductive Decomposition of Halogenated Aliphatics

Robert can be reached by e-mail at: arnold@engr.arizona.edu

Roger Bales is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Hydrology and Water Resources. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Tang on "Greenland Ice Cores, Ice sheet Mass Balance & Atmospheric Chemistry

Roger can be reached by e-mail at: roger@hwr.arizona.edu

Ginny Beal of the NOAO is working with Stacy Frey on "K-12 Educational Outreach

Ginny can be reached by e-mail at: gbeal@noao.edu

Eric A. Betterton is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Atmospheric Sciences. Ben Martel on "Source of Arizona's monsoon moisture - chasing the Gulf Surge" and Undergraduate Research Intern Amy Patel on "Environmental fate of azide derived from automobile air bags: atmospheric photolysis

Eric can be reached by e-mail at: better@air.atmo.arizona.edu

George Burr and Timothy Jull, Research Scientists at the University of Arizona's Department of Physics. They are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeffrey Moore on "Radiocarbon dating methods for sea and groundwater samples

George can be reached by e-mail at: burr@u.arizona.edu, and Timothy can be reached at: jull@u.arizona.edu

Weinong (Wayne) Chen Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Dallas Wright on "SSP Structure Development and Analysis

Wayne can be reached by e-mail at: wchen@ame.arizona.edu

Andrew Comrie is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Geography and Regional Development. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Maria Elena Rodriquez on "Climatic Variability of the North American Monsoon

Andrew can be reached by e-mail at: comrie@climate.geog.arizona.edu

Michael Corbin is a Research Associate at the University of Arizona's Steward Observatory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Heidi Marie Olson on "Color Analysis of NICMOS Parallel Observations

Michael can be reached by e-mail at: mcorbin@as.arizona.edu

Maria Carmen de Mello Lemos is an Assistant Research Social Scientist at the University of Arizona's Latin American Area Center -Isela Castro on "Policy Impacts of ENSO forecast

Maria Carmen can be reached by e-mail at: lemos@soar.atmo.arizona.edu

Nilton de Oliveira Renno is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Atmospheric Sciences. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jacob Champlin on "Soaring Forecast and Thunderstorm Initialization" and Amelia Nash on "In-Situ Measurements in Convective Vortices

Nilton can be reached by e-mail at: renno@soar.atmo.arizona.edu

Dominick DeLuca is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Microbiology and Immunology. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Clifford Baker on "Effect of Microgravity on the Development of the Immune System

Dominick can be reached by e-mail at: deluca@u.arizona.edu

Jim Erickson is the Arizona Daily Star's science reporter. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mary Fan as a Student Science Reporter.

Jim can be reached by e-mail at: erickson@azstarnet.com

Yun Fan is Professor Emeritus in the University of Arizona's Department of Physics. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern John Kyler on "Changing Tree Ring Growth Pattern as Affected by Geomagnetic Disturbances

Yun can be reached by e-mail at: fabct@physics.arizona.edu

Hermann Fasel is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of .Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Benjamin Blumberg on "Experimental Investigation of Bluff Body Wakes

Hermann can be reached by e-mail at: faselh@u.arizona.edu

Ernest D. Fasse is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Interns David Faulkner, Rolf Casad, and Brian Shucker on "SSP GNC: horizon sensor and SSP GNC Attitude Control Reaction Wheel Development

Ernest can be reached by e-mail at: fasse@u.arizona.edu

Uwe Fink is a Professor at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Sing on "SSP Photometer

Uwe can be reached by e-mail at: uwefink@lpl.arizona.edu

Matthias Gottmann is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nathaniel Morgan on "Mars In-Situ Propellant Production Flight Demonstration Oxygen Generator System

Matthias can be reached by e-mail at: matthias@ares.ame.arizona.edu

Richard Greenberg is a Professor at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeannie Riley on "Mapping ridges and chaos on Europa

Richard can be reached by e-mail at: greenberg@lpl.arizona.edu

William Hartmann is a Senior Scientist at the Planetary Science Institute. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Morales on "Mars Global Surveyor: Studies of Mars

William can be reached by e-mail at: hartmann@psi.edu

E. Keith Hege is an Associate Astronomer in the University of Arizona's Astronomy Department.He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stefanie Reeves and and Valerie Fecteau on "Point spread function calibration of Hubble Space Telescope imagery

Keith can be reached by e-mail at: hege@as.arizona.edu

John M. Hill Project Director at the University of Arizona's Department of Astronomy. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Morgenstarr White on "NICMOS Observations of Clusters of Galaxies

John can be reached by e-mail at: hill@as.arizona.edu

Dennis G. Howe is a Research Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Optical Sciences. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matthew Gross on "Optical recording tester

Dennis can be reached by e-mail at: dghowe@opt-sci.arizona.edu

Chris Impey is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Astronomy. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Pesce-Rollins on "Large Scale Structure in the Universe" and Undergraduate Research Intern Amanda Marchand on "Undergraduate Science Literacy

Chris can be reached by e-mail at: cimpey@as.arizona.edu

Ken Johns is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Physics. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Susan Taunton on "High Energy Particle Physics Research

Ken can be reached by e-mail at: johns@fnal.gov

Matthew R. Jones is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chad Parkhill on "Inverse Design of Radiative Systems

Matthew can be reached by e-mail at: jones@ame.arizona.edu

Christina Kennedy is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Plant Pathology. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ethan Larson on "Genetic Regulation of Nitrogen Fixation in Soil Bacteria

Christina can be reached by e-mail at: ckennedy@u.arizona.edu

John O. Kessler is Professor Emeritus in the University of Arizona's Department of Physics. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sara Halper on "Interaction of bacteria in constraining geometries

John can be reached by e-mail at: kessler@physics.arizona.edu

Steve Kukolich is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Chemistry. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Dannemiller on "Microwave Spectra of Molecules of Astrophysical Interest

Steve can be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Larsen is a Research Associate at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nichole Danzl on "Data Mining Asteroids with the Spacewatch Image Archives

Jeffrey can be reached by e-mail at: jlarsen@lpl.arizona.edu

Larry A. Lebofsky is a Senior Research Scientist at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Spencer Edgerton on "Educational Support for Mars Programs

Larry can be reached by e-mail at: lebofsky@lpl.arizona.edu

Robin Lemon-Soape is Assistant Dean of African American Student Affairs at The University of Arizona. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Amanda Marchand on "Undergraduate Science Literacy".

Robin can be reached by e-mail at: rlemon@u.arizona.edu

Ralph Lorenz is a Research Associate at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michele Kuester on "Impact Accelerometry for Mars Penetrators

Ralph can be reached by e-mail at: rlorenz@lpl.arizona.edu

Dr. Joseph R. McConnell is a Research Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Hyrdology and Water Resources. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tasha Lewis on "Atmosphere in the Snow Transfer Processes in Polar Environments

Joseph can be reached by e-mail at: joe@hwr.arizona.edu

Bruce L. McNaughton is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Psychology. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Heather Seifert on "Ensemble Neural Coding in Zero G (Neurolab E100).

Bruce can be reached by e-mail at: bruce@nsma.arizona.edu

Esmail Mehdizadeh of Innovative Lasers Corp. is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chris Bergevin on ""Analysis of Near Infrared ILS Spectroscopy for Planetological Application

Esmail can be reached by e-mail at: esmailm@innovativelasers.com

Michael R. Meyer is an Astronomer at the University of Arizona's Department of Astronomy. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Teresa Marscovetra on "Near Infrared Variability of Young Stellar Objects

Michael can be reached by e-mail at: mmeyer.@as.arizona.edu

Barbara Morehouse of the Institute for Study of Planet Earth is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rainee Etcitty on "Southwest Climate Assessment Project

Barbara can be reached by e-mail at: morehoub@u.arizona.edu

John F. O'Hanlon is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alison Bloom on "Ultrapure Water for Semiconductor Manufacturing

John can be reached by e-mail at: ohanlon@ece.arizona.edu

Alfonso Ortega is an Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Monta Fowlkes on "Development of Thermochromic Liquid Crystal Thermography and Application to Convective Heat Transfer

Alfonso can be reached by e-mail at: ortega@u.arizona.edu

Travis A. Rector is an Astronomer at NOAO. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Danielle Corbett on "A Search for Novae in the Andromeda Galaxy

Travis can be reached by e-mail at: rector@noao.edu

Mark A. Smith is a Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Chemistry. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Greg Cohen on "Laboratory studies of low temperature chemistry" and Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Chavez on "Planetary Atmosphere Reaction Rate Database

Mark can be reached by e-mail at: msmith@u.arizona.edu

Lori Stiles is an Information Specialist Co-ordinator in the UA News Services Department at the University of Arizona. She is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matthew Everitt as a Science writer intern.

Lori can be reached by e-mail at: lstiles@u.arizona.edu

Robert G. Strom is a Professor at the University of Arizona's Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lindsay Nolan on "Valley Networks and the Hydrology of Mars

Robert can be reached by e-mail at: rstrom@pirl.lpl.arizona.edu

Connie Walker Assistant Staff Astronomer and Chris Walker, Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Astronomy. They are working with Undergraduate Research Intern Bryan Jones on "Radio Astronomy: Observations and Instrumentation

The Walkers can be reached by e-mail at: cwalker@as.arizona.edu

Peter Waller is an Assistant Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Ginter on " Remote sensing and in-situ measurement of soil water in precision agriculture and integration of measurements with simulation models"

Peter can be reached by e-mail at: pwaller@ag.arizona.edu

Mark L. Witten is a Research Associate Professor in the University of Arizona's Department of Pediatrics, AHSC. He is working with Undergraduate Research Interns Chris Pettis and Clifford Gross on "Fluid Distribution in a Simulated Microgravity Model

Mark can be reached by e-mail at: mwitten@peds.arizona.edu

Patrick Woida is a Staff Technician Senior in the University of Arizona's Department of Astronomy. He is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lashel Sophia Devich on "Figure Stability of Space Telescope Optics

Patrick can be reached by e-mail at: pwoida@as.arizona.edu