Undergraduate Mentors 1999-2000

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Roger Bales of The University of Arizona's Hydrology Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nicholas Slenker on "Greenland Ice Cores: Accumulation Patterns and Past Atmospheric Chemistry

Dr. Bales may be reached by e-mail at: roger@hwr.arizona.edu

Harrison Barrett of The University of Arizona's Optical Sciences Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Eric Goodwin on "Experiments with gamma-ray detectors

Dr. Barrett may be reached by e-mail at: barrett@radiology.arizona.edu

David Besselsen of The University of Arizona's University Animal Care Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ralph Miller, Jr. on "Apoptosis in Colon Cancer Chemoprevention

Dr. Besselsen may be reached by e-mail at: besselsd@u.arizona.edu

Eric Betterton of The University of Arizona's Atmospheric Sciences Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Anne Williams on "Snow sublimation rates in southern Arizona - the fastest snow in the west?

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: better@atmo.arizona.edu

John Bieging of The University of Arizona's Astronomy Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jason Shaw on "Radio Astronomy Studies of the Birth and Death of Stars

Dr. Bieging may be reached by e-mail at: jbieging@as.arizona.edu

William V. Boynton of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Bailey on "Gamma Ray Spectrometer 2001

Dr. Boynton may be reached by e-mail at: wboynton@gamma1.lpl.arizona.edu

Harold Butner of The University of Arizona's Steward Obs - SMTO Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Theresa Lauwers on "Investigating the Physical Conditions of UCHII Regions

Dr. Butner may be reached by e-mail at: hbutner@as.arizona.edu

James Erickson of The University of Arizona's Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jesus Lopez on "

Dr. Erickson may be reached by e-mail at:

Chang-Yun Fan of The University of Arizona's physics Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Callimanis on "Tree Growth Pattern as Affected by Geomagnetic Disturbances

Dr. Fan may be reached by e-mail at: fancy@physics.arizona.edu

Ernest Fasse of The University of Arizona's AME Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Marissa Herron on "UASAT-GNC: Safety Systems

Dr. Fasse may be reached by e-mail at: fasse@u.arizona.edu

Marco Fatuzzo of The University of Arizona's Physics Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Morris on "nonlinear dynamics of the interstellar medium

Dr. Fatuzzo may be reached by e-mail at: fatuzzo@physics.arizona.edu

Chuck Fellows of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michelle Betancourt on "Thermal modeling and thermal model correlation for a passive 2 stage cooler

Dr. Fellows may be reached by e-mail at: cfellows@lpl.arizona.edu

Uwe Fink of The University of Arizona's Ptys/LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Keith Callerame on "Photometry instrument of the Student satellite Project

Dr. Fink may be reached by e-mail at: uwefink@lpl.arizona.edu

Robert Frye of The University of Arizona's Environmental Research Lab Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Shelby Stubbe on "the Effect of the space environment on complex ecosystems

Dr. Frye may be reached by e-mail at: rjfrye@u.arizona.edu

Paul Geissler of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Richard Smith on "Planetary Image Analysis

Dr. Geissler may be reached by e-mail at: geissler@pirl.lpl.arizona.edu

Raymond Goldstein of The University of Arizona's Physics Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Evan Glazer on "Instabilities of Filamentary Gravitational Plumes

Dr. Goldstein may be reached by e-mail at: gold@physics.arizona.edu

Matthias Gottmann of The University of Arizona's AME Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nickolas Phillips on "Test Support for the Mars 2001 Oxygen Generator System

Dr. Gottmann may be reached by e-mail at: matthias@ares.ame.arizona.edu

Richard Greenberg of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Susan Arthofer on "Geology of Europa

Dr. Greenberg may be reached by e-mail at: greenberg@lpl.arizona.edu

Dean Hines of The University of Arizona's Astronomy Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Seth Swift on "Polarimetric Investigations of Active Galaxies and Axisymmetric Massloss

Dr. Hines may be reached by e-mail at: dhines@as.arizona.edu

Donald Huffman of The University of Arizona's Physics Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Todd Sayles on "Lonterm Changes in Earth Albedo from Lunar Earethshine Measurements

Dr. Huffman may be reached by e-mail at: huffman@physics.arizona.edu

Chuck Hutchinson of The University of Arizona's OALS Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern David Teel on "Models and Modes of Enabling the Use of NASA Earth Science and Data in Decision Making.

Dr. Hutchinson may be reached by e-mail at: chuck@ag.arizona.edu

Suzanne Jacoby of The University of Arizona's NOAO Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Monica Ramirez on "Astronomy Outreach to the Public and Media

Dr. Jacoby may be reached by e-mail at: sjacoby@noao.edu

Kenneth Johns of The University of Arizona's physics Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lynda Canfield on "Simulation of the D0 Experiment at Fermilab

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@fnal.gov

Steve Kukolich of The University of Arizona's Chemistry Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Anthony Beas on "Microwave Spectra of Molecules of Astrophysical Interest

Dr. Kukolich may be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu

Michael Lesser of The University of Arizona's Astronomy Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern German Fuentes on "Test of CCD Detectors

Dr. Lesser may be reached by e-mail at: mlesser@as.arizona.edu

Julie Libarkin of The University of Arizona's University Learning Center Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Crystal Garcia on "The Science Education Assessment Project (SEAP)

Dr. Libarkin may be reached by e-mail at: libarkin@geo.arizona.edu

Ralph Lorenz of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Sarah Shandera on "Planetary Surface Materials Physical Properties

Dr. Lorenz may be reached by e-mail at: rlorenz@lpl.arizona.edu

Stuart Marsh of The University of Arizona's Arid Lands and Geography Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Katherine (Katie) Larson on "Land Use and Land Cover Change for Six Cities in Arid Environments

Dr. Marsh may be reached by e-mail at: smarsh@ag.arizona.edu

Eugene Mash of The University of Arizona's Chemistry Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Scott Sundahl on "Synthesis of Materials for Optics Applications

Dr. Mash may be reached by e-mail at: emash@u.arizona.edu

Alfred McEwen of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Janice Hester on "Survey of Bright Rayed Lunar Craters

Dr. McEwen may be reached by e-mail at: mcewen@pirl.lpl.edu (also mail coorespondence to jgrier@lpl.arizona.edu)

Erzsebet Merenyi of The University of Arizona's LPL Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kapil Chhibber on "Grand Canyon Ecosystem Studies through Remote Sensing Hyperspectral Imagery

Dr. Merenyi may be reached by e-mail at: erzsebet@pirlmail.lpl.arizona.edu

Michael R. Meyer of The University of Arizona's Astronomy Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Andrea Urban on "Evolution of Circumstellar Disks Around Young Stars: Prospects for SIRTF

Dr. Meyer may be reached by e-mail at: mmeyer@as.arizona.edu

Wayne Nicholson of The University of Arizona's Veterinary Science and Microbiology Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Heather Glanzberg on "Testing models for impact-mediated interplanetary transfer of microorganisms

Dr. Nicholson may be reached by e-mail at: wln@u.arizona.edu

Kimberly Ogden of The University of Arizona's Chemical and Environmental Engineering Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Nanette Munoz on "Characterization and Identification of Bacteria in Water Recycle Systems

Dr. Ogden may be reached by e-mail at: ogden@erc.arizona.edu

Marc Orbach of The University of Arizona's Plant Pathology Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Kathleen Ervin on "Isolation of the Valley Fever Fungus from the Soil and its Correlation with Particular Soil Types using Landsat Photography

Dr. Orbach may be reached by e-mail at: orbachmj@ag.arizona.edu

Alfonso Ortega of The University of Arizona's AME Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Raymond Valenzuela on "Heat Transfer in Impinging Jets with Periodic Excitation

Dr. Ortega may be reached by e-mail at: ortega@u.arizona.edu

Judith Parrish of The University of Arizona's Geosciences Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Tammy Baldwin on "Actualistic study of paleoclimatic indicators

Dr. Parrish may be reached by e-mail at: parrish@geo.arizona.edu

David Poirier of The University of Arizona's Mat. Sci.& Eng. Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brian Berkman on "Comparison of structure and segregation in alloys directionally solidified in terrestrial and microgravity environments

Dr. Poirier may be reached by e-mail at: poirierd@u.arizona.edu

Alice Quillen of The University of Arizona's Astronomy Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ariane Lee on "Infrared spectral energy distributions of faint black holes

Dr. Quillen may be reached by e-mail at: aquillen@as.arizona.edu

Travis Rector of The University of Arizona's NOAO Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michelle Denham on "A search for novae in local-group galaxies

Dr. Rector may be reached by e-mail at: rector@noao.edu

Nilton Renno of The University of Arizona's Atmospheric Sciences Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Fareed Pittalwala on "Soaring Forecast and Thunderstorm Initialization

Dr. Renno may be reached by e-mail at: renno@soar.atmo.arizona.edu

Marcia Rieke of The University of Arizona's Astronomy Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Shanna Shaked on "Hubble Space Telescope Observations of Galaxy Nuclei

Dr. Rieke may be reached by e-mail at: mrieke@as.arizona.edu

Mark Riley of The University of Arizona's Ag. and Bio. Engineering Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jennifer Woo on "Near Infrared Spectroscopy for Monitoring Animal Cell Metabolism

Dr. Riley may be reached by e-mail at: riley@ag.arizona.edu

Lori Stiles of The University of Arizona's UA Office of Public Information Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Melissa Laue on "Student science reporter

Dr. Stiles may be reached by e-mail at: lstiles@u.arizona.edu

Mark Willisof the University of Arizona's Arizona Research Lab's Division of Neurobiology and Wayne Jouse of The University of Arizona's Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Anton Anderson on "Biologically inspired robotic systems for locating sources of chemicals.

Dr. Willis and Jouse may be reached by e-mail at: maw@neurobio.arizona.edu

Mark Witten of The University of Arizona's Pediatrics Department is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Morales on "A Substance P Analog to Attenuate Microgravity-Induced Decreases in Immune Function

Dr. Witten may be reached by e-mail at: mwitten@peds.arizona.edu