Science Speakers: Junior High and Middle School

If any of the following information is out of date or missing please contact

Joshua Sosa
520.621.8556
spacegrant@lpl.arizona.edu


Adickes, H. Wayne

adickes@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2862
Title Comments
Careers in Chemistry

1 week advance notice required. Grades 10-12.

Chemistry of a Xerox Copier

1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 6-12.

How Paper Is Made

1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 3-12.

Plastic: What Is It and How Is It Made?

1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 3-12.

Baker, Paul

pbaker@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2862
Title Comments
Pesticides

2-3 weeks advance notice required.

Termites

4 weeks advance notice required.

Environmental Issues

2-3 weeks advance notice required.

Bickel, William

bickel@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2524
Title Comments
Sound, Music, Birdsongs and Earthquakes

Requires 1 month advance notice.

Binder, Rolf

binder@optics.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2892
Title Comments
The Role of Basic Physics in Future Communication

8 weeks advance notice required.

Boattini, Andrea

boattini@lpl.arizona.edu
(520) 621-6899
Title Comments
The Catalina Sky Survey

2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed

The New Frontier: Beyond Neptune

2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed

Minor Planets in the Solar System

2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed

Near Earth Objects

2 Weeks Advanced Notice, Projector Needed

Boyle, Alice

alboyle@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-3534
Title Comments
Bird migration in the tropics

2 weeks advance notice required.

Cohen, Andrew

cohen@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-4691
Title Comments
Lakes

A few weeks advance notice required.

Consalvi, Salvatore

salvatore.consalvi@gmail.com
(708) 527-8593
Title Comments
Summary of Antarctic Research

1 Month Advance Notice

Deep Field Camps: Working in Remote and Isolated

1 month advance, can adjust for any audience

Opportunities and Adventures for the Earth Scientist

1 month Advance, can alter for any audience

Glacier Studies in Alaska and Antarctica

1 month advance, can adjust for any audience

Denton, Dr. M Bonner

mbdenton@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-8246
Title Comments
Going Fast in a Racecar - You'd Better Have Science and Technology on Your Side

1 month advance notice required, 2 months preferred.

The Color of Light - How Spectroscopy Improves Our Lives

1 month advance notice required, 2 months preferred.

DeVito, Carl

devito@math.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2891
Title Comments
Mathematics, Science and the Continuing Search for ET

For high school students or general groups of people that are high school aged or older.

Fulvio, Melia

melia@physics.arizona.edu
(520) 621-9651
Title Comments
The Cosmic Horizon

2-3 weeks advance notice required.

Black Hole at the Center of our Galaxy

2-3 weeks advance notice required.

Supermassive Black Holes in the Universe

2-3 weeks advance notice required.

Ganapol, Barry D.

ganapol@cowboy.ame.arizona.edu
(520) 621-4728
Title Comments
Satellite Remote Sensing and the Environment

3 weeks advance notice required.

Garfin, Gregg

gmgarfin@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4372
Title Comments
How Climate Change Affects the Southwest United States

1 month notice preferred; projector needed; consultation preferred, in order to home in on best match between audience and topic 

From the Parched Past to 2014 and Beyond

1 month notice preferred; projector needed; consultation preferred, in order to home in on best match between audience and topic 

Climate Change in the Southwest United States

2 Weeks advanced notice

Increasing Adaptation Resilience to Climate Extremes

1 month advanced notice

Working with decision makers to plan for environmental challenges

1 month advanced notice

Guertin, D. Phillip

phil@srnr.arizona.edu
(520) 621-1723
Title Comments
Use of Geographic Information Systems for Natural Resource Management

A few days advance notice required. Suitable for grades 3-5.

Hodgins, Greg

ghodgins@physics.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3619
Title Comments
Knowledge from Decay: how Radiocarbon Dating illuminates the past

1 month advanced notice required.

Holberg, Jay

holberg@argus.lpl.arizona.edu
(520) 621-4571
Title Comments
Sirius the brightest diamond in the night sky

1 week advance notice required.

White Dwarf Stars

1 week advance notice required.

Hruby, Victor

hruby@u.arizona.edu
(520) 621-6332
Title Comments
How Do Cells Communicate?

Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.

How Do Hormones Work?

Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.

How the Brain Works: Brain Chemistry

Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.

Pain and Addiction: Are They Related?

Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.

Tanning Without Sun

Talk should be scheduled a few days in advance.

The Chemistry of Human Behavior

Krider, Philip

krider@atmo.arizona.edu
(520) 621-6836
Title Comments
Lightning Safety

1 month advance notice required. Designed for general groups.

Krupinski, Elizabeth

krupinski@radiology.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4498
Title Comments
Telemedicine: Getting Healthcare to People Far Away - Including Space!

2 weeks advance notice recommended.

Larson, Dennis

larsond@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-1248
Title Comments
Using Solar, Wind, and/or Biomass Energy

Lewis, John

jsl@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-4972
Title Comments
Resources From Space

1 week advance notice required. Best for grades 5-12.

Marsh, Stuart

smarsh@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-8574
Title Comments
Mapping and Monitoring the Environment: Thirty Years of Remote Sensing of Planet Earth

McCarthy, Don

dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu
(520) 621-4079
Title Comments
Hubble Space Telescope and UA Astronomy

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

Liquid Nitrogen Demonstration and Miscellaneous Astronomy

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

Mount Graham and Large Telescopes

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

Searches for Other Planetary Systems

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

Adaptive Optics

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

McPherson, Guy

grm@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 621-5389
Title Comments
Is it getting hotter, or is it just Tucson
Peak Oil: The collapse of civilization: the good, the bad, and the unknown
Why you should care about the price of oil

Meixner, Thomas

tmeixner@email.arizona.edu
(520) 331-6730
Title Comments
Hydrology: The Science of Water

Need 1 month and projector. Presentation also focuses on water sources and challenges for Tucson. 

Muscat, Anthony

muscat@erc.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6580
Title Comments
The Phases of Matter

2 weeks advance notice required.

The Next Generation of Computer Chips

2 weeks advance notice required.

Pascucci, Ilaria

pascucci@lpl.arizona.edu
(520) 626-5373
Title Comments
Where did Earth water come from?

1 month advanced notice, projector needed 

Strange New Worlds

1 month advanced notice, projector needed 

Raman, Aishwarya

aishwaryaraman@email.arizona.edu
(520) 465-9021
Title Comments
Modeling Carbon monoxide and dust emissions

1 month advanced notice, projector needed 

Ramohalli, Kumar

ramohall@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2235
Title Comments
High-Tech Toys in our Future and Space Spinoffs

1 week advance notice required.

Silvertooth, Jeff

silver@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 621-7228
Title Comments
Agriculture and the Environment

1 month advance notice required.

Environmental Science and Sustainability

1 month advance notice required.

Soil and Water Conservation and Sustainability

1 month advance notice required.

Swindle, Tim

tswindle@lpl.arizona.edu
(520) 621-4128
Title Comments
Meteorites: Rocks from Space

Grades 3 and up; 1 month advance notice; screen needed

Working (and Living) in Antarctica

Grades 3 and up; 1 month advance notice; screen needed

The Searches for Life on Mars

1 month advance notice; screen needed

Wehinger, Peter

wehinger@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-7662
Title Comments
Probing the Chemistry of Cometary Snows

Requires 1 month advance notice.

Spin-Casting the World's Largest Telescope Mirrors (at the Mirror Lab)

Requires 1 month advance notice.

The Large Binocular Telescope & the Search for ET

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

The Search for Extra-Solar Planets

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

World's Highest Observatory - in the Himalayas

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

The Chemistry & Physics of Comets

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

The Greatest Hits of All Time - When objects collide

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

The Dark Matter Telescope

3-4 weeks advance notice required.

Yancy, Shirley

yshirley@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3666
Title Comments
Where Stars and Planets Are Born

Projector needed for laptop

Zellem, Rob

rzellem@lpl.arizona.edu
(615) 944-2627
Title Comments
Exoplanets: Discovery and Understanding

Projector or power source needed