Undergraduate Mentors 2003-2004

Please note: Most email address and web sites are out of date.

Steven Archer of School of Renewable Natural Resources is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Adrian Vogl on "Consequences of Woody Plant Encroachment into Grasslands".

Dr. Archer may be reached by e-mail at: sarcher@ag.arizona.edu.

Robert Arnold of Chemical & Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Matt Behrens on "Estrogen agonists and antagonists in reclaimed water--impediments to direct reuse".

Dr. Arnold may be reached by e-mail at: rga@engr.arizona.edu.

Julio Betancourt of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Timothy Fischer on "Isotopic characterization of plant and soil CO2 dynamics in deserts".

Dr. Betancourt may be reached by e-mail at: jlbetanc@usgs.gov.

Eric Betterton of Atmospheric Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gabriel Marcus on "Search for highly reactive organic systems on Europa".

Dr. Betterton may be reached by e-mail at: betterton@atmo.arizona.edu.

Robert H. Brown of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Britney Schmidt on "Evaporative isotopic fractionation in solar system ices".

Dr. Brown may be reached by e-mail at: rhb@lpl.arizona.edu.

H. Evan Canfield of USDA-ARS is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Casey Tucker on "Monitoring and Modeling the Hydrologic Impact of Fire".

Dr. Canfield may be reached by e-mail at: ecanfield@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Thomas Cetas of Radiation Oncology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joe Granados on "Fiducial Markers in Imaged Guided Radiation Therapy".

Dr. Cetas may be reached by e-mail at: cetas@u.arizona.edu.

Jon Chorover of Soil, Water and Environmental Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Georgette Schweitzer on "Do organic acids produce biosignatures during mineral weathering?"

Dr. Chorover may be reached by e-mail at: chorover@cals.arizona.edu.

Gary Christopherson of Center for Applied Spatial Analysis is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Thomas Dudley on "The Saguaro Project".

Dr. Christopherson may be reached by e-mail at: garych@casa.arizona.edu.

Julia Cole of Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Meredith Larrabee on "Climate variability reconstruction: Record from SW caves and tropical reefs".

Dr. Cole may be reached by e-mail at: jcole@geo.arizona.edu.

Debra Colodner of Flandrau Science Center is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alea Perez on "Current Science Kiosk at Flandrau Science Center".

Dr. Colodner may be reached by e-mail at: colodner@email.arizona.edu.

Andrew Comrie of Geography is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeannette Dooley on "Linking Climate Variability to Infectious Disease Outbreaks".

Dr. Comrie may be reached by e-mail at: comrie@geog.arizona.edu.

David Crown of Planetary Science Institute is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Megan Pitcher on "Morphologic Analyses of Lava Flows on Mars and Venus".

Dr. Crown may be reached by e-mail at: crown@psi.edu.

David De Young of NOAO is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chun Ly on "extragalactic jets".

Dr. De Young may be reached by e-mail at: deyoung@noao.edu.

Kenneth Domanik of Lunar and Planetary Lab is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lila Sideras on "Meteorite Research".

Dr. Domanik may be reached by e-mail at: domanik@lpl.arizona.edu.

James Field of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeremy Adams on "Nutrient Nitrogen Cycling: Chemolithotrophic Denitrification in Continuous Bioreactors".

Dr. Field may be reached by e-mail at: jimfield@email.arizona.edu.

Uwe Fink of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Chad Mills on "Cube-Sat".

Dr. Fink may be reached by e-mail at: uwefink@lpl.arizona.edu.

Uwe Fink of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jon Winkeller on "Cube-Sat".

Dr. Fink may be reached by e-mail at: uwefink@lpl.arizona.edu.

Gene Giacomelli of ABE is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Randy (Lane) Patterson on "South pole Food Growth Chamber".

Dr. Giacomelli may be reached by e-mail at: giacomel@ag.arizona.edu.

Russell Hamilton of Radiation Oncology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Arthur Kuehl on "Radiation Beam Energy Spectrum Determination".

Dr. Hamilton may be reached by e-mail at: rjh@email.arizona.edu.

Lon Hood of Planetary Sciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Corey Young on "Analysis of Stratospheric Ozone Data".

Dr. Hood may be reached by e-mail at: lon@lpl.arizona.edu.

Malcolm Hughes of Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Mary Kim on "Age, size and growth rate in trees used as climate records".

Dr. Hughes may be reached by e-mail at: mhughes@ltrr.arizona.edu.

Kenneth Johns of Physics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Amy Dashiell on "Probing Inner Space with the Fermilab Tevatron".

Dr. Johns may be reached by e-mail at: johns@fnal.gov.

Raymond Kostuk of ECE is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Navid Sarmadnia on "Parallel Optical Coherence Tomography".

Dr. Kostuk may be reached by e-mail at: kostuk@ece.arizona.edu.

Kevin Kremeyer of PM&AM Research is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alexander McCourt on "Dynamic Response of Materials, with Miscellaneous Possible Extenstions".

Dr. Kremeyer may be reached by e-mail at: kremeyer@physics-math.com.

David Kring of Planetary Sciences and Geosciences is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Devin Schrader on "Exploration of New Meteoritic Samples of Asteroids".

Dr. Kring may be reached by e-mail at: kring@LPL.arizona.edu.

Stephen Kukolich of Chemistry is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jeffrey Kissinger on "Microwave Spectroscopy".

Dr. Kukolich may be reached by e-mail at: kukolich@u.arizona.edu.

Kevin Lansey of Civil Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Danielle Benkert on "Endocrine disrupting activity reduction in treatment and natrual systems".

Dr. Lansey may be reached by e-mail at: lansey@engr.arizona.edu.

Dennis Larson of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Victor Siordia, II on "Solar powered pump development".

Dr. Larson may be reached by e-mail at: larson@ag.arizona.edu.

Ralph Lorenz of LPL is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Brooke White on "Monitoring Clouds on the Outer Planets".

Dr. Lorenz may be reached by e-mail at: rlorenz@lpl.arizona.edu.

Bruce McNaughton of ARL NSMA / Psychology is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Gustaf Van Acker on "High density micro electrode array for neurophysiology".

Dr. McNaughton may be reached by e-mail at: bruce@nsma.arizona.edu.

H. Jay Melosh of Planetary Science is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Robert Marcus on "Impact Crater Effects".

Dr. Melosh may be reached by e-mail at: jmelosh@lpl.arizona.edu.

Kimberly Ogden of Chemical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Zhou on "Survival of Bacteria in Extreme Environments".

Dr. Ogden may be reached by e-mail at: ogden@u.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Daniel Tuttle on "Technology Transfer: Assessing the Adoption of Geospatial Technology by Natural Resource Managers".

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Rachel Miller on "Fire-Climate-Society-1: Making a Geospatial Model that Uses Satellite Imagery Operational On-line".

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Everett Benally on "Navajo Watershed Research Project".

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Barron Orr of Arid Lands is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Noah Lerman on "Designing Web-based Computer Applications to Make Earth Science Research Operational".

Dr. Orr may be reached by e-mail at: barron@ag.arizona.edu.

Alfonso Ortega of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Alexis Schubert on "Small Scale Liquid Cooling of Electronic Systems".

Dr. Ortega may be reached by e-mail at: ortega@u.arizona.edu.

Alfonso Ortega of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Rodriguez on "Visualization of Flow and Thermal Fields in Electronics Cooling".

Dr. Ortega may be reached by e-mail at: ortega@u.arizona.edu.

Ann-Eve Pedersen of Tucson Citizen is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ingrid Lindstrom on "Tucson Citizen internship".

Dr. Pedersen may be reached by e-mail at: pedersen@tucsoncitizen.com.

Eduardo Saez of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Michael Johnson on "Removal of Arsenic and Other Metal Ions from Drinking Water Sources".

Dr. Saez may be reached by e-mail at: esaez@engr.arizona.edu.

Reyes Sierra-Alvarez of Chemical and Environmental Engineering is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Jasmine Tam on "Bioreactive Barriers for the Containment of Heavy Metal Contamination".

Dr. Sierra-Alvarez may be reached by e-mail at: rsierra@email.arizona.edu.

Susan Skirvin of USDA-ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Lauren Malone on "Vegetation Mapping of Walnut Gulch".

Dr. Skirvin may be reached by e-mail at: sskirvin@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Mark Sykes of Steward Observatory is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Conrad Hutcheson on "HST Observations of Ceres".

Dr. Sykes may be reached by e-mail at: sykes@as.arizona.edu.

David Thoma of USDA-ARS SWRC is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Ramon Noriega on "Soil moisture probe calibration for ground referencing satellite radar determination of soil moisture".

Dr. Thoma may be reached by e-mail at: dthoma@tucson.ars.ag.gov.

Kurt Thome of Optical Sciences Center is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Joel McCorkel on "Field spectrometer optical characterization".

Dr. Thome may be reached by e-mail at: kurt.thome@opt-sci.arizona.edu.

Kurt Thome of Optical Sciences Center is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Leonardo Montilla on "Characterization of instrumentation for sensor calibration".

Dr. Thome may be reached by e-mail at: kurt.thome@opt-sci.arizona.edu.

John Williams of AME is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Christopher Hernandez on "Space nuclear reactor shield".

Dr. Williams may be reached by e-mail at: jgw@engr.arizona.edu.

Mark Witten of Pediatrics is working with Undergraduate Research Intern Stephanie Hastings on "A Simulation of Micro-Gravity via Head Down Tilt Model".

Dr. Witten may be reached by e-mail at: mwitten@peds.arizona.edu.