Governor’s 2012 Excellence in Economic Development Award

Thursday, September 13, 2012
Governor’s 2012 Excellence in Economic Development Award

The Arizona Space Grant Consortium is proud to announce that our Ralph C. Steckler Space Grant Phase 2 Lunar Greenhouse development program and associated outreach, has received a Governor’s 2012 Excellence in Economic Development Award!

The University of Arizona Controlled Environment Agriculture Center’s Lunar Greenhouse and Teaching Module:  Reaches K-12 STEM students across Arizona, students at the University of Arizona and graduate students, with support from NASA, demonstrating that vegetables can be grown in space and can be incorporated into the diet of astronauts working on long-term missions.

Orianna Bretschger, 1999 Space Grant Intern, 1999 NAU Grad

Orianna Bretschger, 1999 Space Grant Intern, 1999 NAU Grad

Dr. Orianna Bretschger is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Microbial and Environmental Genomics at the J. Craig Venter Institute (JCVI), San Diego. She earned her B.S. in physics and astronomy from Northern Arizona University (1999), and Ph.D. in Materials Science from the University of Southern California (2008).  Orianna began her professional career at Raytheon Missile Systems and transitioned to a research career in 2004.  Since then, Dr. Bretschger has been studying bacterial electron transfer mechanisms and how bacteria can be applied to engineered systems for optimized energy recovery from organic matter.  As a part of her research, Dr. Bretschger has developed experimental strategies and specialized equipment for the analysis of biological catalysts and is currently the principal investigator for multiple projects involving the selection and characterization of electrochemically active microbial communities from several different environments.  Her work includes collaborations with NASA Ames and Marshall Space Flight Center for the development of sustainable life support systems.

Stella Shin

Emily Berkson

Carter-Thaxton Smith

Brian Franz

Adam DeBolt

Tianna Stefano

Stephanie Zawada

Michael Martin


Subscribe to Arizona Space Grant Consortium RSS